Flaky Food Processor Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2004
This is a great, basic pie crust recipe. I found it was a good combination of taste and flakiness, and it held up well. Even when I don't have time to chill the dough, it is relatively easy to roll (although chilling helps!). I usually just use butter out of the fridge (already hard) but freeze my shortening for an hour. If I can see flecks of shortening and butter when I roll out the dough, I know that it is perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
153 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
This pie crust turned out simply beautifully. Light, flaky, delicious. I cut up the fats into cubes and then tossed them in the flour and froze the entire thing for maximum coldness (and to make sure the fats were evenly distributed). I also added the water one TBSP at a time, dribbling slowly and stopping the processor to mix after each. I have a feeling pie crust can be very hard to work with, so I poured my mixture into a bowl and used saran wrap to bring the mixture into a ball (no bits escaped or stuck to my hands). After colding it up for an hour,I put down wax paper on the table and covered the ball with waxed paper and pulled my rolling pin out of the fridge and had ZERO problems rolling out a nice, thin pie crust. I think I would have had problems though w/o the wax paper, but it made it easy to roll w/o breaks, stuck bits and super easy to transfer to the pie pan. When I made a lattice crust, I put the rolled out dough back in the fridge for an hour before cutting and it too came out amazing. I made a pumpkin pie and and an apple pie w/ lattice crust (my first pie baking experience ever) and my guests seriously thought they were bakery purchased b/c they looked so professional and tasted like a dream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
151 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2001
this pie crust was very easy to make and flaky. i will make this recipe over and over
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2006
I was a pie crust failure, until I came upon this wonderfull recipe. It is so easy and makes everything you fill it with a huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lodi, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
I've always had bad luck with pie crust, I think you have to make them all the time to have "the touch". Anyway, this crust wasn't any harder to work with than the all Crisco one I grew up making, and the flavor added by the butter is really nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2011
Finally I got a flaky pie crust! Followed the recipe almost to the letter. I put the flour, salt, and cubed fats into a bowl and put it in the freezer for a couple of hours while I took care of other stuff. When it came out of the food Processor, I put into a bowl lined with plastic wrap (idea from another reviewer, thanks!) and formed it into a ball and into the fridge for about an hour. Rolled it out between two sheets of wax paper. Easiest pie crust I've worked with but you need to keep it very cold. **UPDATE** I made this pie crust again today but didn't bake it. I just put the flour, salt, and fats into a zip lock bag and put several into the freezer. This being the beginning of the "pie" season, all I have to do now is get the frozen ingredients out of the freezer and throw it into the food processor! Almost an "instant" pie crust! Just can't say enough good things about this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Royall

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Keaau, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2004
This crust is great! It's super easy. This was the first pie crust I made and it turned out perfectly! Just make sure to watch the water (I didn't use the whole 3 Tb.) and work quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2004
EASY!!! Fantastic, tender, flaky crust! I used it with my favorite potpie recipe. I will use it again! Thanks, Charlotte.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2011
Not my favorite pie crust by any means. Part of the problem may be that it's often difficult to teach an old dog (at least THIS old dog) new tricks - I'm much more comfortable making a pie crust by hand - after 8 gazillion pie crusts you get the "feel" of them. The crust seemed a little heavy on the fat, so while it did LOOK nice, it was neither as tender nor as flaky as it should have been.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2006
Best crust I ever made. But, it was not enough for my largish quiche pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Mount Pleasant, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 106) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States