Flaky Food Processor Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
Used the food processor to cut the fat into the flour, but transferred to a mixing bowl to add water. Have made this twice now and each time have need about 5 tablespoons of water before dough would hold together. Could have been my humidity, though. Much easier than using a pastry blender or two forks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by who_me

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
There's way too much fat in this recipe, resulting in a too soft dough that doesn't roll out well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
I used this recipe but did not use a food processor. I did it by hand using a pastry blender. It would have taken me longer to clean a processor than to just do it by hand. ;) The key really is to make sure that your fats are very cold and work quickly. Don't over mix either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
Flavor was good, and crust was indeed flaky. I liked the detailed food processor instructions, but found that I should have gone a little past the "noticeably crumbly" stage and added more water, as the dough seemed a little dry to me. I will try this recipe again, and take my chances by processing a little longer and with more water than I used this time. I made this a second time, and it worked great. Used all butter for a quiche. Pastry pulled right off the board with no sticking. I was very happy! Will use this recipe every time I make pies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
This is a great recipe. I substituted margarine for the shortening, and it turned out great. Also, I couldn't tell what size of pie plate the recipe was for, but I assumed it was for a 9" crust. I needed TWO 9" deep dish crusts, so I changed the servings size from "8" to "20" and it came out PERFECT. In order to get extra crust to roll for the edges you will have to roll the crust out pretty thin. If you want extra for the edges with a thicker crust then I would suggest increasing the serving size to 22 or maybe 24.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
this is the first time in my life i have made a tender, flaky crust. now my husband, the pie maker, has to have me make the crust instead of buying frozen ones. it makes the pie an unbelievable treat, takes it to the next level, lol.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by victoria

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
This pie crust turned out simply beautifully. Light, flaky, delicious. I cut up the fats into cubes and then tossed them in the flour and froze the entire thing for maximum coldness (and to make sure the fats were evenly distributed). I also added the water one TBSP at a time, dribbling slowly and stopping the processor to mix after each. I have a feeling pie crust can be very hard to work with, so I poured my mixture into a bowl and used saran wrap to bring the mixture into a ball (no bits escaped or stuck to my hands). After colding it up for an hour,I put down wax paper on the table and covered the ball with waxed paper and pulled my rolling pin out of the fridge and had ZERO problems rolling out a nice, thin pie crust. I think I would have had problems though w/o the wax paper, but it made it easy to roll w/o breaks, stuck bits and super easy to transfer to the pie pan. When I made a lattice crust, I put the rolled out dough back in the fridge for an hour before cutting and it too came out amazing. I made a pumpkin pie and and an apple pie w/ lattice crust (my first pie baking experience ever) and my guests seriously thought they were bakery purchased b/c they looked so professional and tasted like a dream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
160 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
Throw away your pastry blenders! This is the best and easiest way to make pie crust. I made 3 crusts yesterday for Turkey Day pies, chilled them overnight and rolled them this morning. They rolled out perfectly and they browned evenly when they were baked. As for the "water" directions, be careful and add only as much as directed in the recipe. I opened the top of my food processor and pinched the dough to see if it held together before turning it out into a bowl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2008
Very good and very easy, my favorite! I made it the other night and ended up with two very thin crusts. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2008
This is the first pie crust I've made from scratch. It was so easy I think I will never buy a store bought one again. It was so easy to make. I only used half of the water. I was amazed with how easy it was to handle. I had no problem rolling it out and I even made the top into a lattice. The best part, it tasted soooooooo good. I'm normally not a fan of a pie crust and would often eat the filling and leave the crust behind. Not anymore.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

Butter Flaky Pie Crust

This buttery crust is ideal for any kind of pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States