Flaky Food Processor Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2009
This is the best pie crust ever! My family loves it and it's so easy. I've made it about a dozen times now and think I'll continue to do so as long as I've got a food processor around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzanne Tatum

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2009
I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sylvan Lake, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2009
This is the only way I make pie crusts. (BTW, I live in Spain and you cannot buy ready made pie crusts in the supermarket.)I never make a single recipe though. If you're going to make a mess, you might as well make it count...double or triple, wrap in plastic wrap and put in the freezer or fridge until you're ready to use. Thanks for a wonderful recipe! Love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2008
Jenn, thanks so much for clearing something up for me! I have been making pie crust in the food processor for a couple of years, but it was always tough, never flaky because of the amount of water it took to form the ball while in the processor. Your advice is better than Martha's and the barefoot lady! My crust was flaky!!! A little hard to work with, but definitely flaky! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRISHICAT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Martinsville, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Clifton, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
I made this recipe for our Thanksgiving pies. It is fabulous! The dough is a little hard to work with because it doesn't quite all stay together, but it makes for a light, flaky, tender crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waco, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
Used the food processor to cut the fat into the flour, but transferred to a mixing bowl to add water. Have made this twice now and each time have need about 5 tablespoons of water before dough would hold together. Could have been my humidity, though. Much easier than using a pastry blender or two forks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by who_me

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
There's way too much fat in this recipe, resulting in a too soft dough that doesn't roll out well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2008
I used this recipe but did not use a food processor. I did it by hand using a pastry blender. It would have taken me longer to clean a processor than to just do it by hand. ;) The key really is to make sure that your fats are very cold and work quickly. Don't over mix either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
Flavor was good, and crust was indeed flaky. I liked the detailed food processor instructions, but found that I should have gone a little past the "noticeably crumbly" stage and added more water, as the dough seemed a little dry to me. I will try this recipe again, and take my chances by processing a little longer and with more water than I used this time. I made this a second time, and it worked great. Used all butter for a quiche. Pastry pulled right off the board with no sticking. I was very happy! Will use this recipe every time I make pies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
This is a great recipe. I substituted margarine for the shortening, and it turned out great. Also, I couldn't tell what size of pie plate the recipe was for, but I assumed it was for a 9" crust. I needed TWO 9" deep dish crusts, so I changed the servings size from "8" to "20" and it came out PERFECT. In order to get extra crust to roll for the edges you will have to roll the crust out pretty thin. If you want extra for the edges with a thicker crust then I would suggest increasing the serving size to 22 or maybe 24.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 106) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States