Flaky Food Processor Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
Easy and great tasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Saltville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
This was an "ok" recipe. Easy because it is made in the food processor but I found it kind of crumbly to roll out. Also...it only makes a single crust. Wish this was specified on the recipe itself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Burlington, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
Wow! This was super easy to make and a perfect basic pie crust for my chicken pot pie. I made this with butter and it still came out beautifully flaky and flavorful. I plan to add just a bit of sugar to the recipe and whip up a cherry pie tonight. A simpler and better tasting recipe won't be found!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deeta Jean

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Harrisonville, Missouri, USA
Living In: Merriam, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
This is it. If you are frustrated by inconsistent pie crust results, here's the recipe to use. Do make sure you freeze the "fat" and process as little as possible. The result is a well marbled crust that flakes up perfectly. Again, don't over process (the fat and flour should not be blended) or add too much water (stop while it still looks dry). Other than that, this is a fool proof way to make a perfect pie crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whitehall, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
This is the easiest pie crust and everyone thinks I am a pro at it. I make an old fashioned version just by adding 2 tablespoons of sugar which helps make the crust more flaky. You must give this recipe a try! I would rate this 10 stars if I could. Thanks a million!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DonnaTMann

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
used all butter - used to make my 1st 2 pumpkin pies ever - thanks to the Lighter Libby Pumpkin Pie recipe here on the site - ended up freezing the butter & added 5 tablespoons of cold water rather than 3 - ended up with large crumbs - poured out onto table- pressed into dough ball with my hands - back into fridge for 3 hours until I could use it - rolled out beautifully - filled with light pumpkin pie filling and baked both - baked too long due to cracks on top but taste was awesome! flaky! buttery! utterly sinful - not good for you but can't beat the taste - cooled both pies & froze 1 for Christmas - other pie was gone in 2 days thanks to our 6-year-old who loves pumpkin pie & me too - will try to thaw pie in fridge for a day before reheating for 10 minutes - will see how it works out & report back
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Greeley, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
So easy - the instructions are wonderful and so helpful. This is the best pie crust I've ever been able to make at home. I rolled it out after chilling using a cloth and rolling pin cover. It was excellent and so flaky. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
I made this today and it's the best pie crust I've ever made. I followed the recipe exactly except I doubled it and mixed 2 crust at once in the food processor. I dumped my crumbly dough from the food processor into a large ziploc bag and then formed it into a ball, then chilled in the fridge. I divided it half rolled it out between 2 sheets of wax paper for 2 crust. Very flaky crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2010
Didn't work for me :( I added more and more water but it never formed into a ball, I couldn't get it to roll out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BETHAROO2U

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
This was a perfect recipe! I never thought I'd be able to make pie crust but I had no problem with this. I made 4 crusts (for 2 double crust pies). The first was a little wet and took awhile to roll out. The last ones were perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States