Flaky Food Processor Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
Wow!! This recipe was really easy. I had not made pie crust in over 20 years. It turned out perfect and no mess. I put the processor bowl and blade in the fridge and all the ingredients in the freezer. I also replaced part of the water in one tablespoon for distilled vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2011
I followed this recipe to letter trying to use my food processor to make pie crust. I have never had so much trouble with pie crust in my life! I left the dough in the refrigerator for hours trying to get it firm enough to roll out, but I ended up just piecing it together in the pie plate. I even made i a second time thinking maybe more shortening and less butter would help, but it didn't. I'm giving it 3 stars because it did taste good, but I'd give it 1 for the difficulty I had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Casper, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Elkton, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2011
I tried it with whole grain flour... Might not have been the best idea. It fell apart while rolling it out, and I imagine the wheat bran interfered with some necessary chemistry going on in the white flour. Very fun to make in your food processor! My 4 month old was well entertained :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DarinandMe

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
The crust flavor was very good but the edges of the crust kept separating while I was roling it out. Can't figure out what I was doing wrong. Made a fresh from our garden raspberry pie that was great. I'll try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2011
Used 1/2 cup butter instead of shortening. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookingInSeattle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2011
I have been using this recipe for years and always get compliments on my pies. I vary the proportion of butter to crisco based on what I have on hand, and it doesn't matter - the result is always excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2011
I use a stick of butter instead of shortening and this turns out perfectly. It's easy to work with and almost impossible to mess up! Viva la food processor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2011
Not my favorite pie crust by any means. Part of the problem may be that it's often difficult to teach an old dog (at least THIS old dog) new tricks - I'm much more comfortable making a pie crust by hand - after 8 gazillion pie crusts you get the "feel" of them. The crust seemed a little heavy on the fat, so while it did LOOK nice, it was neither as tender nor as flaky as it should have been.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: May 8, 2011
Soooo easy and the taste was amazing! I rolled it out between waxed paper. Next time I think I should flour the waxed paper- I had a little trouble transferring it to the pie pan and it tore a bit, but nothing that wasn't fixable. I think I would get better with a little more practice. I might try adding a tiny bit more water next time to see if it would make the baked pie crust a little less crumbly, but it really didn't matter this time since I was making a single crust French Silk pie. Overall a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Amherst, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
Easy and great tasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Saltville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 106) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States