Flaky Food Processor Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 21, 2013
Perfect pie crust...and easy too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2013
I used all butter and no shortening. Otherwise it's a great basic crust recipe. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
The pie crust was falling apart even after chilling, but dillagence with forming a ball and rolling paid off. I suggest that when putting the dough in the shell that leaving a little extra at the top because it does shrink a little when cooking. However a little work pays off with an amazing crust!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
This was really easy to make in the food processor and tasted delicious. I didn't freeze the shortening or butter, but if I have time next time I"ll give it a shot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2012
Turned out wonderfully even thought I initially thought I had added too much water. So much easier and faster than doing it with a pastry cutter! I will definitely be using this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ollianna786

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coral Springs, Florida, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
This is a great recipe. I was looking for a pie crust recipe, mine was lost, so I thought I would try this. I'm used to making pie crust the old fashioned way, this is so much quicker and easier. You have to be careful with the amount of water you add, a little goes a long ways. After mixing I put it in the fridge, along with the rolling pin. To roll this out, you need to sandwich it between 2 layers of waxed paper. I doubled this and it made enough to make a large deep dish pie. The pie crust was tender, flaky, and had a nice flavour. I'll never make pie crust any other way again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lekili_

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ancaster, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2012
Easy success! Instead of shortening,I used coconut oil,(which is solid most of the time anyway...)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sanakruz

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2012
I can cook... I can bake... but pie crusts have been my nemesis. I'm constantly at war with my Mother-in-law over the fact that she makes perfect pie crusts and mine are more like cardboard... until now!!! Finally a pie crust that I can't screw up!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2012
This is the best food processor recipe for pie dough I have found. I tore the dough transferring to pie pan, and it patched up beautifully and you could not tell when pie was baked. Very flaky with excellent flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
This was a mess. The food process part of the recipe worked fine but rolling out this pie dough was a disaster. I followed the recipe exactly. The dough formed a ball but crumbled and stuck and fell apart when I tried to roll it out. I also wish the directions stated that this is a ONE pie crust recipe. Sheesh. I don't understand the 5 star rating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Murphy's Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anacortes, Washington, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

Butter Flaky Pie Crust

This buttery crust is ideal for any kind of pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States