Flaky and Tasty Pastry Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2013
Very flaky, will never go back to another (similar) recipe. However, the reason for only 4 stars is that, in my opinion, this recipe needs at least 1c more flour to start with. It's misleading with the recipe stating 1c. water, however the directions are quite clear. But there still needs to be more flour to begin with, otherwise you risk over-working the dough. My recommendation is to keep the liquids as per the instructions (1 cup total)but increase the flour at the start. It's a nice, soft-ish, workable dough. I got 6-9"shells out of it. I used shortening (Fluffo or Crisco) as I never have lard in the fridge but I always have the shortening in my pantry. Perfect with the additional flour. My go-to recipe here on out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2013
I tried this recipe, but was doubtful when it called for baking powder. Boy was I glad I tried it, my husband and daughter loved it! My husband told me to throw away my old recipe and keep this one. It works great just mixed up or froze and used later!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OkieSue

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wagoner, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
I am an experienced pie-maker who was leery of trying another pastry recipe besides my gramma's. Dare I say this one was better? Amazing! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
you have to realize people come with a variety of up bringing- and the quality of their taste and style could be higher or lower than you might see for yourself... GOOD could mean nothing to you if the person reviewing ate POOP all their life... and just because someone made something all their life doesn't make them the one to seek advice from
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CAMXposure

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2012
PERFECT!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2012
I've gone through both shortening and butter phases in my life when it comes to crusts. Suffice it to say, now that I've finally discovered lard, I may not be going back.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bethany

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2012
will never use any other recipe again for both meat or fruit!!! Bye bye the recipe on the back of the Tenderflake box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
thank you so much for saving the day with this recipe .. our 3 generation old recipe has been misplaced and we where all standing in the kitchen ready to get started on a full day of baking! We now have a new family recipe, so flakey and golden and delicious, would not change a thing! Baked 10 min @ 450, 40 min @ 400
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Georgetown, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
For those who feel that there is too much liquid just beat your egg and add water to bring it up to the one cup mark. This is perfect every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pegs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Photo by thenakedbaker
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2011
I originally submitted this over 8-9 years ago. Over the years I have made some changes. I now leave my lard in the fridge and cut it into small cubes. I also now use my standing mixer to make the pastry (with the flat beater) slowly adding the butter to the dry ingredients. Finally I gradually add the wet ingredients. Like many reviewers have mentioned the full cup of liquid is not always necessary. Add it gradually until a ball forms. It usually takes me 5 minutes. To all of you who've commented on it being "gooey". I would recommend you re-try the recipe, adding the liquid a bit at a time while stirring. You can even use a food processor (according to a friend of mine). I hope you enjoy it. Michelle
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Pie Pastry Dough

Follow this simple recipe to make perfect pie crusts every time.

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Butter Flaky Pie Crust

This buttery crust is ideal for any kind of pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States