Five Spice Turkey Cheeseburgers Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2010
These burgers are amazing. I omitted the fresh ginger (since I didn't have any) and added a little extra ground ginger. They're so delicious. My husband and daughter are extremely picky and they asked me to make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2012
These were AWESOME!! The only change I made was to use a little extra 5-Spice Powder, and these were so amazingly fantastic that my husband immediately asked when we would be having them again. I'm not normally a fan of turkey burgers, and even I was wolfing mine down! I cooked these on my George Foreman grill for 6 minutes, which was perfect, and served them on home-made onion buns with goat's milk gouda. My only complaint was that I couldn't really taste the pineapple (probably due to using canned instead of fresh). Next time, I will likely omit it and replace is with a dollop of a tangy barbeque sauce we like. Really fantastic recipe!!! ******Okay, it's now "next time!" This time, I added a little more 5-spice powder, replaced the gouda with smoked mozzarella (it's what I had) and made sure to use fresh pineapple instead of canned, and oh WOW, what a difference! The hubby and I agreed immediately that the fresh pineapple takes this to a whole another level.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KychynWych

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wrightwood, California, USA
Living In: Memphis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
These were absolutely delicious!!! I omitted the ground ginger and must used more fresh and I forgot to put the fresh spinach leaves on it - but the end result was incredible served with garlic mayo. I should note that I used ground chicken instead of ground turkey - we will definitely make these again! EDIT - I made these again and used ground turkey - the end result was still very good. This is easily my favorite turkey burger recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelcampbell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smiths Falls, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kemptville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
The flavors that mingle in this burger places you somewhere in an exotic location. Wonderful texture, flavor, and combination of ingredients. I was out of turkey and used beef instead, and it was still fantastic! Don't muck with the other called for ingredients, they really add to the overall experience of the burger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2010
Wanted to try another recipe for turkey burger, the last ones we made were kind of dry. This one is very moist and all the flavors blended together delicioso! Did make a few modifications: used the whole egg, threw in more onion, used white mexican cheese and cooked in the oven (under broiler for last few minutes, including pineapple. This is a keeper for us and encourage you all to try as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rapid City, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Raeford, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2012
I had to laugh regarding the reviewer who " used ground beef instead of turkey and omitted the 5 spice" yet rated THIS recipe. Amazing....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Spoerndle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
One of our favorites. Shared with my mom and now it's one of their favorites too. Patties freeze well for later use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee O'Connor

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Bothell, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
We just had these burgers for dinner tonight and they were delicious! I followed the recipe but used colby jack cheese since I didn't have the gouda handy. I served them with mango chutney as a condiment and it was a good match. Be sure to cook the pineapple until it is soft. We charred the pineapple lightly then turned off the grill so we could leave the slices to cook at a lower temp for awhile. Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
This was good! Used ground beef instead of turkey and omitted the Chinese spice mix. But it turned out very good. Everyone loved it. Better with 2 pineapple rings vs. one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2012
OK I rated it 5 star,I haven't tried it, but it sounds good. The thing is I want to know is if anyone ever tries these recipies as given as EVERYTIME I read the reviews everyone changes something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Five Spice Grilled Chicken

See a quick-and-easy recipe for fabulous, five-spice grilled chicken.

How to Make Turkey Burgers

See a great trick for making truly delicious low-fat turkey burgers.

Actually Delicious Turkey Burgers

These turkey burgers are so tasty, you may just give up beef for good.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States