Five Spice Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2003
I did not have any trouble with this recipe being too dry. But my zucchini was frozen so it had lots of extra water in it. I baked mine for 30 minutes. I thought they came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2003
This is an excellent recipe, I really enjoyed it. I didnt' have the coriander or cloves but I added a pinch of ginger instead and it still turned out great. The muffins were moist and rich and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2006
These are definitely spice muffins. I couldn't find my coriander so I left it out, but there was plenty of spice flavor in them without it. I added one large grated carrot to the zucchini and used prune butter and 1 T of oil in place of the 1/3 cup of oil, and left out the sunflower seeds entirely since I don't like them. Even with these changes the muffins came out really moist and fluffy, and were very easy to eat and eat and eat. I did get quite of few of them, though. I made 18 regular sized muffins and 20 mini muffins, although that could have been because I added more to the batter (the carrot).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FRAMBUESA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2006
Absolutely delicious - I used 2 cups whole wheat flour to 3/4 cup white. And I used less sugar. It seemed like a lot to me, and I don't like a sweet muffin. Love the sunflower seed crunch!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Terrace, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Smithers, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2005
Very moist and yummy. My roomate loved them. I didn't add any sunflower seeds beause I didn't have any but it didn't matter. Not too sweet. I might add a bit more sugar next time because I have a sweet tooth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Warrington, Cheshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2003
Easily and quickly prepared. Excellent flavor. My kids even ate them after i told them vegetables were hidden inside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2006
I brought these to work for a spontaneous "Happy Friday" treat and they disappeared in no time! I used a whole, small round zucchini squash from which I removed the seeds and grated/chopped in the food processor, and used more wheat flour than white (1+3/4C wheat & 1C white.) Also ground (then sifted) my own coriander in my coffee bean grinder because I only had the whole seed version. Used almond extract instead of vanilla. Finally, I added a couple handfuls of raisins just prior to adding the boiling water to the zuke mixture so they could soften and plump. They turned out perfect! Didn't have any sunflower seeds to add but definitely will make a point of it next time for the crunch factor. Spicy good! A+! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JayDubya

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2006
Very good muffins. I'll definitely be making these again, as I have a freezer full of shredded zucchini....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Zelienople, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Harmony, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2006
Very nice cake-like muffin. I made them without the sunflower seeds. I thought they were very sweet, moist, and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2006
moist and delicious! wonderful muffins! a real keeper.I left out the seeds, as am not a big fan. otherwise just yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teresa Ruzycki

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milton, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Yorkton, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Zucchini Yogurt Multigrain Muffins

These healthy muffins are packed with carrots, zucchini, nuts, and raisins.

Easy Pumpkin Muffins

These muffins are moist and tasty, and freeze well.

Chocolate Chip Muffins

Watch how to make chocolaty muffins kids love.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States