Five Spice Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2007
WOW - these were fantastic! I didn't change a thing and they are delicious - thanks so much for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cocoa Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2007
Wow, this is an amazingly good recipe! I made them for my baby (with a few modifications) and ended up eating a lot of them myself! My modifications: I used 1 cup grated zuchinni and 1 cup grated carrots, left out the sunflower seeds, used less sugar (one heaping cup instead of 1 1/2 cups and it was plenty sweet! I can't imagine using the full amount.), and I didn't have any cloves, so I used 1 teaspoon pumpkin pie spice instead. This recipe is SOOO good! We're down to our last muffin and I can't wait to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2007
Yum! I did make a few changes since I wanted to be able to give some to my little one. I didn't use the sunflower seeds & cut the ground seasonings in half. The flavor was subtle but very nice. I can imagine that the full amounts would be nice, as well, as would including the sunflower seeds. I didn't have any trouble mixing the dry & the wet ingredients that others mentioned. I will definitely make this again! Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2006
Very nice cake-like muffin. I made them without the sunflower seeds. I thought they were very sweet, moist, and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2006
I brought these to work for a spontaneous "Happy Friday" treat and they disappeared in no time! I used a whole, small round zucchini squash from which I removed the seeds and grated/chopped in the food processor, and used more wheat flour than white (1+3/4C wheat & 1C white.) Also ground (then sifted) my own coriander in my coffee bean grinder because I only had the whole seed version. Used almond extract instead of vanilla. Finally, I added a couple handfuls of raisins just prior to adding the boiling water to the zuke mixture so they could soften and plump. They turned out perfect! Didn't have any sunflower seeds to add but definitely will make a point of it next time for the crunch factor. Spicy good! A+! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JayDubya

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2006
This was a great recipe. I did not have coriander, nutmeg, or sunflower seeds, so I ommitted those and the muffins were still good. If I make again, I will add a little more sugar, because I would've liked them a little sweeter. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2006
Very good muffins. I'll definitely be making these again, as I have a freezer full of shredded zucchini....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Zelienople, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Harmony, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2006
These are definitely spice muffins. I couldn't find my coriander so I left it out, but there was plenty of spice flavor in them without it. I added one large grated carrot to the zucchini and used prune butter and 1 T of oil in place of the 1/3 cup of oil, and left out the sunflower seeds entirely since I don't like them. Even with these changes the muffins came out really moist and fluffy, and were very easy to eat and eat and eat. I did get quite of few of them, though. I made 18 regular sized muffins and 20 mini muffins, although that could have been because I added more to the batter (the carrot).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FRAMBUESA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2006
Absolutely delicious - I used 2 cups whole wheat flour to 3/4 cup white. And I used less sugar. It seemed like a lot to me, and I don't like a sweet muffin. Love the sunflower seed crunch!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Terrace, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Smithers, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2006
moist and delicious! wonderful muffins! a real keeper.I left out the seeds, as am not a big fan. otherwise just yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teresa Ruzycki

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milton, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Yorkton, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Zucchini Yogurt Multigrain Muffins

These healthy muffins are packed with carrots, zucchini, nuts, and raisins.

Easy Pumpkin Muffins

These muffins are moist and tasty, and freeze well.

Chocolate Chip Muffins

Watch how to make chocolaty muffins kids love.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States