Five Spice Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2009
Well, I was really hoping I'd *love* these but unfortunately I didn't. They were just OK. I followed the recipe as written except I did add 1/2 cup raisins. They weren't exactly 'dry' but weren't as moist as I would have liked them. I filled 24 muffin cups and only baked them for 18 minutes which was enough. Keep in mind that sunflower seeds have a very distinct flavor; I've never used them in muffins and I didn't quite like the strong flavor in a muffin. I would have preferred walnuts or pecans. I won't make these again as there are other recipes that we love better (hint: banana crumb muffins!!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMETHYSTAA

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2009
The batter was too dry so I added about 1/4 cup of vanilla yogurt. They came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NarumKnits

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2008
I have made this recipe twice, the second time I doubled it because the first ones went so fast! I made 21 muffins and a 9x13 cake. I plan to ice the cake with cream cheese icing. The only changes I made were to the spices. I left out the coriander and added more of the others, mostly cinnamon, but allspice and cloves as well. I also substituted the seeds for rasins (personal preference) and it worked really well. I'll definately be making this a LOT! Great recipe for zucchini, mostly because I have so many to use!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WILLOWSCHNELL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: St. Albert, Alberta, Canada
Living In: New Sarepta, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2008
I was really impressed with this recipe. It has wonderful flavor and a great texture. I can't wait to make it again! I made 12 muffins and 24 mini's (I didn't have the sunflower seeds this time, but I'll make sure to have them on hand next time.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by valandtim
Reviewed: May 19, 2008
These were good. They tasted like zucchini bread in the shape of muffins. I thought the spice quantities were perfect. They almost tasted like spice cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynna_Maria

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arcade, New York, USA
Living In: Lindale, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2007
We loved these muffins. What a great way to use a zucchini. My 5 year old daughter said they tasted just like pumpkin pie. I thought they were more like a dense spice cake. I didn't have any coriander so I didn't use it. I didn't cut back on any of the other spices and the taste was just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MJP1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2007
I also added an extra 3 Tablespoons of water to this recipe. I substituted 1/3 cup of melted butter in place of the oil It turned out quite nicely. I also sprinkled some vanilla sugar that I had kicking around on top of each one. The smell was heavenly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2007
These were a very good and held together well, not dry or crumbly. I followed one reviewer's suggestion and halved all the dry spices, it was perfect. I don't know if I like the sunflower seeds in them, I'm going to try a different nut, maybe walnuts or pecans. Everyone in my family loved them! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2007
This recipe was easy and turned out great. I omitted the sunflower seeds, and added raisins. Love the spices used, i'll definitely use this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2007
The spice flavor is great, but they are way too sweet. If you like store bought muffins, which should be called cupcakes, then use all the sugar. I'm going to add the spices to a more healthy whole grain muffin recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Zucchini Yogurt Multigrain Muffins

These healthy muffins are packed with carrots, zucchini, nuts, and raisins.

Easy Pumpkin Muffins

These muffins are moist and tasty, and freeze well.

Chocolate Chip Muffins

Watch how to make chocolaty muffins kids love.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States