Five Spice Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 31, 2011
These were delicious and pretty easy to make. I used my food processor to grate zucchini and that made it fast and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
Delicious, chopped up a small bag of mixed seed, nuts and fruit and added it to the muffin dough. Even my picky eater loved these muffins and said they are the best ever, and she got the sevret ingredient vegetables.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
I cut this recipe down to twelve servings. I used hot brewed Tazo chai tea instead of plain water. I also used whole wheat flour, pecans instead of sunflower seeds (only because my family isn't big on sunflower seeds), I cut the salt down to a pinch and the sugar down to a half cup (we're really watching our salt/sugar intake) and I kept all the spices and vanilla to a teaspoon for the twelve muffins. After folding the wet ingredients into the dry, the mixture was still too dry. I needed to add another 3/4 cup of liquid to get it to combine and look like muffin batter. I did add 3/4 cup of lowfat buttermilk. The smell of these baking is really out of this world. All of us really enjoyed them, though mine did turn out a little dry. It could just be because I did cut the recipe back or maybe I baked them too long or overmixed them due to the not enough liquid. Still, a great muffin. I think next time, I might add a half cup of organic raisins in the shredded zucchini step. Keeping the spices high in this recipe really negated the need for extra fat or sugar. This is a really flavorful zucchini muffin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
SO GOOD. I made a healthier variety with 1 c white rice flour, 1 3/4 spelt flour and 1 tsp xanthan gum. Also reduced the sugar to 2/3c and they were plenty sweet. The spices override it all and they are a fabulous mix!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2010
Wow, these taste great, I love the spices. I substituted 2 small spoonfuls of honey for the sugar - if you don't like overly sweet, the honey gives it just enough. I also used egg whites only. They turned out great, I recommend this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by In_Ontario

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2010
These did indeed smell spicy as they were baking! In fact, when I tried one I was surprised to find they weren't as spicy as the aroma led me to imagine they'd be. Not that that's a bad thing! These are, in fact, delicately spiced (I used all spices as directed) and just barely sweet, which is actually refreshing for a muffin (if I want cake, I'll eat cake). However, if you like a sweeter muffin you could easily add a little more sugar. I used candy coated/chocolate covered sunflower seeds which I've learned bleed in wet batters! (But are great in cookie doughs) While the sunflower seeds were "ok," I think I'd rather have raisins, dates or other dried fruit that might add that hint of sweetness and contrasting flavor that these missed for me. These are definitely flavorful, moist and bake up with pretty, domed tops. I left some of them as is and glazed the rest with a mixture of powdered sugar and lemon juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2010
Hmmm...I'm more than a little puzzled as to what the "5th" spice is!! Vanilla? Sunflower seeds? Oh well, no matter, even without a fifth spice, these muffins are aMAZing! With no coriander in my spice rack, I decided to substitute ginger along with a smidgen of dried orange peel. The sunflower seeds were replaced with raisins [I'll try dried cranberries next time just for the change], oil was replaced with 1/3 cup of plain yogurt & 1/4 cup of ground flaxseed, cut back on the sugar to 1/4 cup of white & 1/2 cup of brown [& the muffins were Plenty sweet enough] & finally added a large shredded carrot as one reviewer suggested. The verdict? Every blessed muffin was gone at work before our first coffee break!! I gave the recipe to 4 co-workers by the end of the day!! That's it! This recipe shouldn't be called five Spice...it's Five Star Muffins!!! ;-DDDD
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by roxessence

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boonville, New York, USA
Living In: Rome, New York, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
I missed an ingredient the first time I made these, but the second time they were WONDERFUL. I also skipped the sunflower seeds, but these are great because I can make a large batch, and they freeze really well. Take a couple out of the freezer just before going to bed, and they're a great healthy grab-and-go pick. For an even healthier variety, replace the eggs and oil with a small can of pumpkin- in this recipe, you won't even taste the pumpkin, and will cut down the fat content even more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2009
Very warm flavor but I think the sunflower seeds mess up the texture and mouth-feel. I like sunflower seeds and was excited to use them, but it just didn't seem to work here. Golden raisins would be a good fit. Warm them before serving for extra coziness!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaLizGa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Simpson Bay, Sint Maarten, Netherlands Antilles

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2009
A great way to use up our bumper zucchini crop. Very tasty !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bill Ligertwood

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Zucchini Yogurt Multigrain Muffins

These healthy muffins are packed with carrots, zucchini, nuts, and raisins.

Easy Pumpkin Muffins

These muffins are moist and tasty, and freeze well.

Chocolate Chip Muffins

Watch how to make chocolaty muffins kids love.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States