Five Spice Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
My family loves this, I use mini muffin pans and get about 24 muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2013
I make this every year for Christmas. In the summer I grate up zucchini from my garden in the food processor, measure out 2 cup increments and put it in freezer bags. I don't use the boiling water because freezing the zucchini makes them soft. Leaving out the water makes the recipe perfect for high altitude. Thaw it out and you're ready to go! The coriander gives a nice flavor and the sunflower seeds are just a little different. I make mini loaves instead of muffins. Always a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Edgewood, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2013
Made this recipe yesterday. I only had white whole wheat flour on hand, so used that. Replaced sunflower seeds with chopped pecans (personal preference). Cut sugar back to about 1 cup, mixed together white and brown sugar. Used cinnamon, nutmeg and allspice, as these were the spices I had on hand. Cut the salt back to just about 1/8 t, the recipe amount called for seemed like much too much? Added some fresh lemon zest to the batter. As others mentioned, my batter was a bit too dry, so I had some heavy whipping cream on hand (why not??) and stirred in, just a drizzle of it, till the batter seemed moist enough. I had to bake this in a 9x9 in pan, as I could not find my muffin form. We ended up with kind of a cake or Zucchini Bread. But, it was just a bit dry. Great flavor though. It may have been the reduction of sugar AND the whole wheat flour that contributed to the dryness. So, next time, I think I'll increase the amount of shredded zucchini or even add some shredded carrot as others did, to get the moisture level up, but still keep it healthy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2013
Delicious! I made them vegan by substituting ground flax seed and water for the eggs. Also used applesauce for the oil. Very tasty and nice combination of seasoning/spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
We loved this recipe. I used frozen zuchinni and added all the liquid too. I also added about 1 cup if mixed chopped dried fruit along with the raw sunflower seeds - really nice and moist and perfectly spiced.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
Exceptional! The flavor of these muffins is outstanding! I used sucanat instead of white sugar and baked jumbo muffins instead of regular sized. They even looked perfect with high domed tops. I must admit I did not use the sunflower seeds because I didn't have any, but I did add a few blueberries. I will be making these often! In fact I may just use this recipe for my zucchini bread as well.It is that good! The spices make the muffin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
Excellent base recipe but modified it more than usual- used 1/3 Cup buttermilk, 1.5 Tb oil,used 3 cups WW flour, added 3 TB gluten, 1 TB baking powder; also next time, will reduce the clove as it did not please my little guy; the spice mix was really nice as was the added veggies - thank you for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
I believe these would be much better without the sunflower seeds. Will try them without next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2011
My family fell in love with these muffins, even my finicky boys who hate vegetables. I didn't tell them that there was zucchini in them and they couldn't tell (and I never told them either). This is an easy way to get another serving of vegies into everyones diet without much trouble. Thank you for this great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
very good--lite & none of the dense zucchini taste/texture--will most certainly be making these again. only change was I used white whole wheat flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Zucchini Yogurt Multigrain Muffins

These healthy muffins are packed with carrots, zucchini, nuts, and raisins.

Easy Pumpkin Muffins

These muffins are moist and tasty, and freeze well.

Chocolate Chip Muffins

Watch how to make chocolaty muffins kids love.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States