Five-Spice Chicken Wings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2008
We absolutely loved the flavors in these wings!! The only things I changed about this recipe were additions: we like a little heat, so I added some Vietnamese chili sauce, and a little sesame oil. Marinated them for about 8 hours, and they were great. Update: I have now made these a dozen times, and each time they receive RAVE reviews from my guests. They are also excellent grilled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by E J

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Marion, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
Wow. Is this GOOD! And so flavorful. I had some chicken legs to use up so I used those instead of chicken wings. I didn't marinate it overnight like the recipe called for. I broiled the legs for about 20 minutes on each side, then tossed them in the sauce. Cooked up nice and crisp. I didn't change much to the sauce, other than cutting back on the chili sauce, which I only used a tablespoon of. I also doubled the recipe. This turned out great. I used the drippings from the chicken in The Day Before Payday Fried Rice. Great meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2008
It started out kind of bland so I added more of the sweet chili sauce and it turned out great!! I also used Chicken breasts instead of the wings, and grilled it on the George Forman. My family loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2008
The Flavor was Sensational. I placed Chicken Legs in a Large Resealable Bag and added the marinade and let soak overnight. Wow - Excellent Flavor. This would be great on the BBQ too I'm Sure. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairview, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2011
Wow! My husband and I were looking for some different wing recipes that were baked and these were fantastic! For an Asian recipe, it is really low in sugar, too. My husband suggested using some red pepper flakes next time to spice it up a bit. Overall, amazing recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rocklin, California, USA
Living In: Vallejo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
Delicious! I used quarter legs and grilled them. Had to sub sweet and sour with some chili flakes for the sweet chili sauce. Worked great. Served with onion rice and steamed broccoli and radishes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missdrea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
Yummy and addictive! I can't wait to try these on the BBQ.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2009
I doubled the marinade for 8 bone in breasts. I subbed lime juice for the fish sauce because of allergies. Very good taste, loved by everyone. Grilled the breasts and the smelled fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by the4taals

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Owen Sound, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2008
These were good, but not our favorite. The cooking time is for whole wings - if you are doing wingettes/drumettes, it takes less time. I set our timer for less, but they still got a little crispy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warrenton, Virginia, USA
Living In: Bel Air, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
These were delicious. Cooked perfectly. The only mistake I made was to get whole wings. Would be better with the drumettes. Am keeping this recipe for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Orange Chicken Wings

The perfect wings for people who love spicy orange takeout chicken!

Baked Chicken Wings

Yes, you can get crispy chicken wings from the oven.

Pastrami Chicken Wings

See how to make chicken wings with a pastrami kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States