Five-Spice Chicken Wings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2014
I made this to specs, except for the following. I marinated for 24 hours in a sealed bag refrigerated. I placed the wings and drumettes on a raised rack in a cookie sheet lined in foil and sprayed with oil. This solved the "un-crispness" issued in other views. Cooked at 425 for 50 minutes without turning. Then broiled for 5 more minutes. Nice and crispy but NOT dry. I served these up over julienned cabbage to keep them crispy and appealing. Will make these again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2013
These were wonderful! Can't wait to make for next gathering. I followed recipe to the letter and marinated the wings overnight. These were really good; not sure they had to be in a 425 for 45 minutes tho. I tossed thin sliced cabbage with a little sesame oil, rice vinegar and chopped peanuts and that was the "bed" for our plates for dinner! Great flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Sunnyvale, California, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2012
I used chicken tenders as well as drumettes. Both turned out very moist. I only did 30 min @ 425, not the 45 min. Upon reading the recipe, it did not look like enough quantity to cover all the chicken I had, however, once you make it - it is more than enough. I gave it three stars because overall I just didn't like it. It wasn't bad, it had potential. I did not use the fish sauce (couldn't find it in the store - not something I would ever use). Although I have never used them before, for me the combo of the sweet chili sauce and the Chinese five-spice was overwhelming. I am willing to try them again separately .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
Yum, yum. I doubled the marinade recipe with more finely chopped garlic (used a whole bud), 1/2 regular onion (no green onion available), and lime juice up front, then let the marinade work on the drums, wings and drumettes overnight and during the next day. I cooked for 60+ total minutes, turning at 20 and 40 minutes, then pouring off all liquid so they "dried" in the last 20. Made a veggie stir fry in coconut oil and added a little plum sauce at the end. DELISH FLAVOURS! Highly recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
These were delicious. Cooked perfectly. The only mistake I made was to get whole wings. Would be better with the drumettes. Am keeping this recipe for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
Great Flavor!! This will be added to my monthly meals no doubt! Thank You for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hotttoddynyc

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Manhattan, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2011
Wow! My husband and I were looking for some different wing recipes that were baked and these were fantastic! For an Asian recipe, it is really low in sugar, too. My husband suggested using some red pepper flakes next time to spice it up a bit. Overall, amazing recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rocklin, California, USA
Living In: Vallejo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2011
This one carries a whopping 5 stars on my recipe list! It's an awesome recipe that also is great by subbing in Sriracha Chile sauce for the Sweet Chile sauce for more spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
Delicious! I used quarter legs and grilled them. Had to sub sweet and sour with some chili flakes for the sweet chili sauce. Worked great. Served with onion rice and steamed broccoli and radishes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missdrea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
Yummy and addictive! I can't wait to try these on the BBQ.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spicy Orange Chicken Wings

The perfect wings for people who love spicy orange takeout chicken!

Pastrami Chicken Wings

See how to make chicken wings with a pastrami kick.

Garlic Ginger Chicken Wings

See how to make saucy oven-fried chicken wings.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States