Five Pepper Hummus Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2005
This hummus recipe is delicious, and was a hit at a party I recently made it for. It works well served w/ toasted pita cut into wedges.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2008
Very good! I didn't think the heat was too much...the pita bread tones it down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
Great hummus! I love spicy food and this was right on the money! I did however omit the cayenne so as to actually taste the hummus flavor along with the jalapeno. I think this recipe is just as tasty without the cayenne.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2009
I love spicy food but I agree with other reviewers about cutting down the cayenne and black pepper. I used 1 tsp each and it was still HOT!!! I also added some cherry peppers (didn't have green peppers)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2009
This is still the best hummus recipe I have found. You must really love spicy though. I wouldn't personally recommend cutting any ingredients, maybe even suggest more jalapeños. But if you want spicy but not mouth scorching, perhaps you should cut back. Anyways, a terrific recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2010
Incredibly good! My husband and I made this last night and only used about half of the hot ingredients. We added the hot stuff in stages and quit when it was full of flavor, but not burning hot. The next morning the flavors had melded together for an extra kick. Great stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MBKRH
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2007
Yowza! This has a bite to it! It came out very tasty, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2007
I made this for a group (I am the only one dieting) and they loved it. It had more taste than others I have tried and was very moist. I used fresh peppers right out of the garden.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2008
This recipe is great, only the amount of cayenne pepper and black pepper is way too much. Cut those by about 2/3 and you should have a tasty and well-presented snack or appetizer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
VERY SPICY! Not for everyone, although I did enjoy it. Can't dip a hefty amount on whatever you're serving this with. After reading the reviews, I decided to cut the cayenne pepper in half, along with the black pepper. I also only added 3 jalapeno peppers. It was still a little too spicy for my liking, so I added some lemon juice, more garlic, olive oil, and more tahini in an effort to make it a bit more mild. Worked a little. :) Very good, though, will probably make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Red Pepper Hummus

See how to make quick-and-easy hummus with red bell peppers.

Spiced Sweet Roasted Red Pepper Hummus

A creamy hummus with a little cayenne kick.

How to Make Hummus

See how easy it is to make your own hummus in a blender.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States