Five Minute Lemon-Poppy Seed Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
I've had the microwave chocolate cake many times, and I've never once gotten it to turn out. I tried the vanilla option for this, and for a microwave cake, it was fantastic. I'm out of eggs, so I tried it without an egg and a little extra buttermilk and hoped for the best. I microwaved it for 45 seconds and sampled it then, it was very moist and dense.. But with a much, much better texture than microwave chocolate cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2012
The taste was okay, but I'm reviewing to say DO NOT use yogurt as a sub for buttermilk as suggested in the Cook's Notes. I did & it was horrible!!! It came out rubbery & chewy, ick! But I will try it again, I just didn't want anyone else ending up with the mess I did :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
It was enough to satisfy my sweet tooth. I think I could have put it in two different cups or bowls, a lot of it spilled over, most likely because my egg was an extra large egg. Lemon glaze would enhance the taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ehreng
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2010
If you're at high altitude like me, better split it between two mugs... mine spilled over during the cook time. I didn't have lemon extract, so I used juice and grated peel... probably would have been more flavorful with the extract... not bad overall, especially if you sprinkle it with more sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ehreng

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2010
The texture is a bit wierd but it might be because I used Splenda, Egg Beaters and fat free buttermilk. The taste is right on for a lemon cake. I thought I had poppyseeds but alas, I didn't and already had the rest made. So cooked in my microwave for exactly 2 1/2 minutes, worked perfect. I put a little glaze on top of powdered sugar, skim milk and lemon extract. Thanks for a great idea, and I'll buy some poppyseeds for sure to make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy in Pensacola

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2010
I used a large cereal bowl and it turned out quite well at 3 min. The middle looked different/soft at first, but cooled to the same shortly. I reduced the sugar to a bit over half but then ended up sprinkling it on top. Not as lemony since I used lemon juice. The milk/vinegar substitute for buttermilk seemed to work, doesn't take long. Used a bit more poppy seeds and ground them for more flavour. If I'd thought of it, wonder if soaking them in milk like in some other poppy seed recipes would have improved it? Also I used whole wheat flour. For a microwaved cake I was impressed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2013
I tried this and it would just burn and change colors in the middle. I tried changing the cook time because of the high wattage my microwave has. It still burned on me. It was a good experiment but I won't be doing this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Plumas Lake, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DIZ♥
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2010
I had high hopes for this recipe and really, really wanted to like it, but for the life of me, I can't get this to turn out. I've tried several times, each with an oversized 2c. ceramic coffee mug. It always looks great from the outside, but it keeps burning on the inside. I've reduced the cook time to 2 minutes with little success. The inside just wants to change colors to an unappetizing burnt brown and is very chewy. Flavor wise, the cake is great, especially when topped with lemon glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DIZ♥

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CC♥'s2bake
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2010
This was a fun experiment but not one I'll repeat. While not exactly inedible, there was just something offputting about the texture and taste. I added a lemon glaze to top it off which definitely helped.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful


 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Minute Chocolate Mug Cake

See how to make delicious chocolate cake in the microwave.

Best Mug Cake (Paleo)

See what makes this chocolate mug cake paleo-friendlier.

Pineapple Angel Food Cake I

This impressive pineapple angel food cake is impossibly easy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States