Five Minute Ice Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2010
I've made this twice now, both times w/ 1/2 and 1/2. I can't wait to try the yogurt/lower fat versions. It was a great last minute new dessert for supper but really only one of my children will get it out of the freezer to eat the leftovers. Second time I didn't food process the fruit long enough and there were chunks which was not as appealing. The fruit was also more frozen the second time (since it hadn't just come from the trip out of the grocery store) and the ice cream was thicker because of it. fast, fun recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2010
This is an amazing recipe! Why? It is SO quick, easy, and delicious. Also, the main ingredient is strawberries, which makes me feel better about its healthiness. This was a hit tonight. We topped with a little whipped cream and chopped pecans. I never got it to firm up like in the picture even though I kept adding more and more strawberries. Next time I'll probably leave in the freezer for a little while before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brinker1975
Living In: Arlington, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2010
WOW...that's all I can say. Works great with Splenda.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2010
this is so tasty and a good recipe. my blender is terrible so the consistency was off, but once i froze it = amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by janacakes
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2010
My husband and I are hooked. The blueberries in our freezer are going much quicker than we anticipated!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2010
This gets 5 stars because it is so easy to make and tastes so good. I've tried it with strawberries, blueberries, blackberries, and a triple berry mix. All were fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
This was very yummy and a huge hit with my informal dinner party. Our guests asked for the recipe so she could make it at home and my (often picky) husband loved it. I rated it at five stars because it was easy to make, we loved it, and I think most people who try it would enjoy it as well. However, I do have a couple things to note. First of all, I found the finished product was MUCH too runny to serve immediately. I used a not super powerful blender which contributed, I'm sure, as well as using strawberries that weren't 100% frozen since I they had been frozen whole and I had to take the time to slice them. My finished product was a runny milkshake consistency and didn't even resemble a solid. After sitting in a deep freezer for about 3 hours, it was sufficiently frozen around the edges but still somewhat runny in the center. Still delicious, though! Secondly, the finished product was sweeter and creamier than I liked. Next time I think I would try 1/3 cup sugar and maybe 1/2 cup cream (I used whipping cream, 33% MF) with milk topping up to 2/3 cup. I anticipate that will still be sweeter and creamier than needed, but I would rather slowly step it down than make a flop. Also, I added 1/4 tsp vanilla as a previous reviewer recommended and I'm glad I did. Overall, we really enjoyed this recipe and I will definitely be trying it again. I look forward to experimenting with different flavours!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
Okay, Pamela, you're either my new best friend or worst enemy for showing us how to make delicious ice cream in 5 minutes! I used nonfat 1/2 & 1/2 and Splenda. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2010
So Tasteful my daughter loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marana83

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by glopsey
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
I made this three times, each with a different fruit. The first time I made the recipe to exact measurements with cherries. Turned out watery and froze it overnight, turned more into a sorbet and too sugary. I made it two more times, once with strawberries and once with blueberries, reducing the sugar to three cereal spoons worth of sugar and it was just right. I would think this would be a great recipe to use with kids, just keep out the sugar, use a healthy milk alternative and have it for dessert! :) I would make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by glopsey

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 141-150 (of 415) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Strawberry Ice Cream

Just in time for summer! See how to make quick, simple strawberry ice cream.

How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream

See how to make rich, luscious vanilla ice cream from scratch.

How to Make Ice Cream

See how easy it is to make America’s favorite frozen dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States