Five Minute Ice Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 20, 2005
What a superbly easy and tasty recipe. We've made it over and over. One hint if you're using a blender instead of a food processor add half the cream to the blender first and then drop in the frozen berries while the blender is running. Add the remaining cream and sugar as called for. I don't have a f.p. and when I tried it the first time in my blender the berries kept getting stuck and the cream froze onto the berries. But I learned and I love the custardy ice cream. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
638 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
try using vanilla lowfat yogurt being that it is already sweetened.This way u cut the fat and not the flavor.You can combine the frozen fruit and yogurt in the blender...been doing this for years!enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
387 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2002
This is so easy to make and so delicious and creamy. My mom, a dedicated chocoholic, thought it was wonderful. I used mixed berries (no frozen strawberries left by the time I went shopping) and it was delicious, if seeds bother you try another fruit. Am going to try with frozen peaches next time. If you don't have an ice cream maker and want to try home made ice cream, you have to try this. Two thumbs ups!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
193 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Jo
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2008
Holy cow! Is this GOOD! I doubled it, knowing that other reviewers had said that it makes such a small amount. We LOVE ice cream in this house and this is better than anything I've bought in the last ten years. Really creamy and rich tasting. I've made strawberry this time, but I plan on experimenting with fresh nectarines and peaches next. EDITED 06/12/08: I've made this with mandarin oranges AND bananas. Not quite as good as the strawberry. The mandarin oranges were drained really well, but still made this ice cream more "ice-crystal-ly." The banana was a more subtle flavor, and you really didn't need a whole lot of sugar with the bananas. I think I might try fresh nectarines next, then move back to berries. The whole family is still raving about the strawberry. EDITED 06/21/08: I made a triple batch of this today with blackberry, blueberry and strawberry. Delicious! EDITED YET AGAIN: I have now made this with FF half-n-half and half the amount of sweetener only using Splenda and still have it come out great. Good dessert for someone who is either diabetic and has to watch their sugars OR someone who's trying to lose weight but still have something sweet every once and a while.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
122 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2002
Pamela is a true GENIUS! This recipe is amazing and so satisfying. I used unsweetened frozen mixed berries for that is what I had on hand (I had to adjust the amount of sugar because the other berries in the mix tend to be a bit tart). I also added around 1/4 tsp. of vanilla to give it that berries and cream taste ~ Heavenly. A definite keeper in my recipe box. Thank you for sharing this with us :-D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
109 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2003
Wow! I love stawberry Ice Cream and this is wonderful!!! Sooo easy to make. One note...I reversed the order of ingredients that you put in the blender..I put part of the heavy cream first which made it much easier to blend the frozen strawberries. This ice cream is very tatsy and it's made it into my family recipie book!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
106 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tara
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2008
I USED VANILLA SOY MILK INSTEAD OF CREAM AND SPLENDA IN PLACE OF THE SUGAR ALSO CUT THE SPLENDA DOWN TO 1/4 CUP. THIS WAS VERY YUMMY!!! I THINK NEXT TIME I WILL CUT THE SPLENDA DOWN A BIT MORE.WITH THE VANILLA SOY MILK WAS A BIT SWEET STILL. I ALSO MADE MANGO AND STARBERRY FLAVOR'S.THE POSSIBLITY WITH FLAVOR'S IS ENDLESS.THNX MUCH FOR A WEOBDERFUL RECIPE :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
102 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tara

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Tomah, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: May 15, 2008
WOW!!! This is my new favorite recipe right now coming upon summer!! I don't own an ice cream maker and saw a question posted on the AR exchange for this recipe. It really only takes 5 MINUTES to make this! I made two different flavors...strawberry and peach. I have a mini 3 cup kitchen aid food processor and was concerned it might not work, but it did! I had recently froze large fresh picked strawberries in the last 2 weeks. My machine did chop the fruit fairly well...and the taste was soooo goood! Some of my fruit was a bit icy. You may want to blend longer if you want a smoother fruit texture. It has a very cold, thick pudding-like consistency once blended.. After reading some other reviewers suggestions, I also froze for 30 minutes and even liked the texture of the ice cream more than after first blended. NEXT time I will cut back on the sugar when I use really sweet strawberries. My kids were fighting over the last bites!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2005
This is heavenly. I used blueberries, but can't wait to try peaches. Reminded me of old-fashioned ice cream shop creamy custard. Word of caution: Don't make this when you are the only one home. Thank you Pamela.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SLJ6
Reviewed: May 28, 2008
Great recipe....who knew how easy this would be and tasty. I used a bag of frozen mixed berries, cut the sugar in half and used fat free half and half as suggested by Lorie. Results were perfect. My daughter really enjoyed this quick dessert. I really enjoyed the fact that is was semi-healthy unlike the real deal. Will make again and try different fruits! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 418) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Strawberry Ice Cream

Just in time for summer! See how to make quick, simple strawberry ice cream.

How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream

See how to make rich, luscious vanilla ice cream from scratch.

How to Make Ice Cream

See how easy it is to make America’s favorite frozen dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States