Five Hour Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
I didn't like this very much. The gravy had a weird consistency, it didn't have much flavor to it, and my carrots were still a little crunchy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahStumphf

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middletown, New York, USA
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2012
I followed recipe to a T and it was ok but left a little something to be desired. It's a good base recipe though that can be tweaked to desired tastes. Thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
Excuse me, when do you add the burgundy, and shouldn't you brown the beef first?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Livonia, Michigan, USA
Living In: Maryville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2011
This was so tasty! I made a few changes though...I used fresh ingredients, substituted celery for the water chestnuts, left out the tapioca and used Marsala wine instead of Burgundy. I browned the beef in a pan first and then put everything into my crockpot and cooked it on low for 5 hours. I served it over egg noodles and my family loved it and went in for seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mooresville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
Yummy. My husband liked the stew sauce. It was very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by geekygirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
The meat was extremely tender in this recipe. However, the stew needed more seasonings. I may try pre-seasoned crushed tomoatoes and add other seasonings such as oregano and basil next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SCHAFFERSS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2008
Thank-you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cookies
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2008
I've made this stew ( a few ingredient differences) for many years now and I am happy to see it here! I use fresh vegetables and always add whats in season (and whats leftover in my fridge or freezer). Today I added fresh butternut squash. The beef stew meat is so tender from slow cooking it, and all the flavours meld together nicely. It's very filling and comforting to have on a fall day. THX.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookies
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2004
Overall, not a bad stew. I used fresh vegetables instead of canned and added in squash as well as a little more red wine. Oregano, parsley, paprika were also added. A glass of red wine and crusty rolls completed the meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Venison Stew

See how to make a classic stew with venison, carrots, and potatoes.

Summer Squash and Sausage Stew

This simple summer stew stars squash and smoky andouille sausage.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States