Five Food Groups Macaroni Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2011
oooo very different I like it! I used mayo and I think you may need more than 1 cup since it really soaks into the pasta but what a great change to the same old mayo, mustard, vinegar recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
Rave Reviews at our family BBQ tonight! Modifications: used the whole packet of ranch, used some sour cream along with the mayonnaise. Omitted the raising, and added a chopped yellow pepper. Truly delicious, everyone had 2-3 helpings! THANKS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2010
Great salad to bring anywhere! I followed another reviewer's suggestion and added dried cranberries instead of raisins, the whole 6oz package because they are tasty! I also used canned chicken because not many at my BBQ preferred the tuna. As a creamy salad dressing, I used Ranch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katrina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Stroudsburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2008
I was really disappointed with this recipe. It was bland and no one in my family wanted to eat it which is rare because tuna/pasta salads usually are something I can get everyone to eat. I made it according to the directions (using whole wheat pasta)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2008
This was good but needed a little fixing up. After a night in the fridge all the dressing was soaked in by the pasta, but I just poured some plain youghurt on it and that worked great. Also tossed in some extra raisins because it was a bit bland. Adding some mixed seeds also helps change it up. A nice pasta salad that I ate happily for an entire week for lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pecs, Baranya, Hungary
Living In: Pamplona, Navarra, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2008
YUM! I needed to use up some cooked, whole wheat farfalle (bow tie pasta) and wanted a salad with pasta and ranch, so I did a search and this one came up. I'm glad I chose it! I did make some changes based on reviews and what I had on hand. I can't have store-bought Ranch Dressing, so I make my own. Instead of using the salad dressing/mayo and the dry mix, I just used an equal amount of already prepared Ranch Dressing. I used a can of chicken breast instead of tuna, dried cranberries instead of raisens (rest of the family doesn't like them), and shredded the carrot. Since I didn't have tri-color pasta the salad needed some green, so I added chopped parsely. I used a Fuji apple and sharp cheddar. Scrumptous! Thanks for the quick and easy and delicoius recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JulieCC

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Parker, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2007
I loved this salad! Needed a recipe for a pot luck, and decided to try this one. Only changes I made (because of what I had available) was to use chicken instead of tuna, dried cranberries instead of the raisins and mayo instead of salad dressing. I had to make copies of the recipe for everyone at the pot luck....and now it is a favorite in many homes! Thanks for sharing this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2007
I followed instructions but recipe seemed dry, Needed more salad dressing. Tasted a little bland. I needed for a recipe group the next day so I added more dressing, roasted pine nuts and added cranberries but I would not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beaumont, Texas, USA
Living In: Montgomery, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2007
I reviewed this back in 2007, and have been making it since then. I made it again today, and the changes I made were to substitute Ken's Sweet Vidalia Onion dressing for the creamy salad dressing + ranch combo. It is definitely a sweeter pasta salad, but still delicious. I am eating it right now straight out of the bowl, without waiting for it to go in the fridge...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Camarillo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2007
This recipe is great. I substituted dressing for reduced fat mayo, tuna for canned salmon, used whole grain pasta, and cheddar for swiss. results were spectacular.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Williamsburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mom’s Best Macaroni Salad

Make a quick, colorful, creamy salad that’s slightly sweet and tart.

Amish Macaroni Salad

This salad is light and so delicious, the perfect summer side dish.

Classic Macaroni Salad

See how to make a classic deli-style pasta salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States