Five Food Groups Macaroni Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2005
Awesome! I made one alteration I used ham flakes instead of tuna, because we have people in our family who won't eat tuna. Terrific and easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2006
This is the best salad. I have already made 2 batches in a week! 2 of my family members who don't like tuna love this salad. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2006
My new favorite lunch! It's best with granny smith apples (in my opinion!) and I love it with dried cranberries, too! I make a big batch of it and eat it for lunch all week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2006
I loved it and my whole family did too. I didn't use carrots b/c it wasn't on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2006
I loved how this recipe was simple and easy to change up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by adriad

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2007
I reviewed this back in 2007, and have been making it since then. I made it again today, and the changes I made were to substitute Ken's Sweet Vidalia Onion dressing for the creamy salad dressing + ranch combo. It is definitely a sweeter pasta salad, but still delicious. I am eating it right now straight out of the bowl, without waiting for it to go in the fridge...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Camarillo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2007
This recipe is great. I substituted dressing for reduced fat mayo, tuna for canned salmon, used whole grain pasta, and cheddar for swiss. results were spectacular.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Williamsburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2007
I loved this salad! Needed a recipe for a pot luck, and decided to try this one. Only changes I made (because of what I had available) was to use chicken instead of tuna, dried cranberries instead of the raisins and mayo instead of salad dressing. I had to make copies of the recipe for everyone at the pot luck....and now it is a favorite in many homes! Thanks for sharing this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2008
YUM! I needed to use up some cooked, whole wheat farfalle (bow tie pasta) and wanted a salad with pasta and ranch, so I did a search and this one came up. I'm glad I chose it! I did make some changes based on reviews and what I had on hand. I can't have store-bought Ranch Dressing, so I make my own. Instead of using the salad dressing/mayo and the dry mix, I just used an equal amount of already prepared Ranch Dressing. I used a can of chicken breast instead of tuna, dried cranberries instead of raisens (rest of the family doesn't like them), and shredded the carrot. Since I didn't have tri-color pasta the salad needed some green, so I added chopped parsely. I used a Fuji apple and sharp cheddar. Scrumptous! Thanks for the quick and easy and delicoius recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JulieCC

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Parker, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: May 12, 2010
Great salad to bring anywhere! I followed another reviewer's suggestion and added dried cranberries instead of raisins, the whole 6oz package because they are tasty! I also used canned chicken because not many at my BBQ preferred the tuna. As a creamy salad dressing, I used Ranch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katrina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Stroudsburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Classic Macaroni Salad

This deli-style macaroni salad will always be a crowd-favorite!

Mom’s Best Macaroni Salad

Make a quick, colorful, creamy salad that’s slightly sweet and tart.

Amish Macaroni Salad

This salad is light and so delicious, the perfect summer side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States