Five Food Groups Macaroni Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2007
I loved this salad! Needed a recipe for a pot luck, and decided to try this one. Only changes I made (because of what I had available) was to use chicken instead of tuna, dried cranberries instead of the raisins and mayo instead of salad dressing. I had to make copies of the recipe for everyone at the pot luck....and now it is a favorite in many homes! Thanks for sharing this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2005
Awesome! I made one alteration I used ham flakes instead of tuna, because we have people in our family who won't eat tuna. Terrific and easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2005
Made this for a cook out, made it for 20 people Everyone liked it. Would make it again. Increased the amount of carrot and raisins just for color.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2008
YUM! I needed to use up some cooked, whole wheat farfalle (bow tie pasta) and wanted a salad with pasta and ranch, so I did a search and this one came up. I'm glad I chose it! I did make some changes based on reviews and what I had on hand. I can't have store-bought Ranch Dressing, so I make my own. Instead of using the salad dressing/mayo and the dry mix, I just used an equal amount of already prepared Ranch Dressing. I used a can of chicken breast instead of tuna, dried cranberries instead of raisens (rest of the family doesn't like them), and shredded the carrot. Since I didn't have tri-color pasta the salad needed some green, so I added chopped parsely. I used a Fuji apple and sharp cheddar. Scrumptous! Thanks for the quick and easy and delicoius recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JulieCC

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Living In: Parker, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: May 12, 2010
Great salad to bring anywhere! I followed another reviewer's suggestion and added dried cranberries instead of raisins, the whole 6oz package because they are tasty! I also used canned chicken because not many at my BBQ preferred the tuna. As a creamy salad dressing, I used Ranch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katrina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Stroudsburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2007
This recipe is great. I substituted dressing for reduced fat mayo, tuna for canned salmon, used whole grain pasta, and cheddar for swiss. results were spectacular.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Williamsburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2008
This was good but needed a little fixing up. After a night in the fridge all the dressing was soaked in by the pasta, but I just poured some plain youghurt on it and that worked great. Also tossed in some extra raisins because it was a bit bland. Adding some mixed seeds also helps change it up. A nice pasta salad that I ate happily for an entire week for lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pecs, Baranya, Hungary
Living In: Pamplona, Navarra, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2006
My new favorite lunch! It's best with granny smith apples (in my opinion!) and I love it with dried cranberries, too! I make a big batch of it and eat it for lunch all week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2011
oooo very different I like it! I used mayo and I think you may need more than 1 cup since it really soaks into the pasta but what a great change to the same old mayo, mustard, vinegar recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2006
I loved it and my whole family did too. I didn't use carrots b/c it wasn't on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom’s Best Macaroni Salad

Make a quick, colorful, creamy salad that’s slightly sweet and tart.

Amish Macaroni Salad

This salad is light and so delicious, the perfect summer side dish.

Classic Macaroni Salad

See how to make a classic deli-style pasta salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States