Five Flavor Pound Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2003
Hello gang! LueWana here reviewing yet another note worthy recipe. I found this cake to be very moist and it holds up well. Will last a week and still maintain it's flavor and moistness as long as it is either wrapped well in plastic wrap or placed on a cakestand/plate with lid. I also subbed some items. Not being very big on extracts and preferring truer flavors, I used a bit of vanilla bean, one bean to be exact, and opted for fresh lemon zest, about 1/4 of a tsp. I left out the coconut extract, and used Puerto Rican Dark(spiced)instead of the rum extract. The end result was fabulous! This is a basic pound cake recipe that will allow you use the flavorings or extracts that you prefer. I tried this recipe again using just vanilla and lemon zest and still obtained spectacular results. Watch your baking time, adjust it according to the type/size pan you are using. I used the Fleur d'lis pan and had enough batter left over to make a few individual bundt cakes. Hope this review helps or gives you some new ideas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
91 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LUEWANA

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2006
Wonderful, delicious recipe! I used orange, rum, almond, coconut and vanilla extract, since that is what I had on hand. The glaze is a must, makes the cake so extra wonderful! I did not pour the glaze over the cake, I brushed it on with a pastry brush. One problem, it boiled over the 12 cup bundt pan I used..next time I will use less of the batter in the bundt pan, then maybe make a small loaf also. This pound cake has to be the best cake I have ever eaten. Everyone at work raved about the taste and moistness. Thank you for such a wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Delmar, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fruitland, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2007
This cake was simple to make, it came out perfect! The only substitution made, was using various flavors of extracts - I used what was on hand (almond, vanilla butter nut, lemon, banana). The cake is so moist and flavorful...It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2002
Excellent, excellent, excellent!! Very moist and buttery--baked up perfectly (1 hr 20 min) and made a nice presentation. Did not need a glaze at all. Very flavorful and still wonderful after 3 days. Will add this one to my permanent file.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2006
I used orange extract instead of lemon. The coconut extract "took over", so I would cut back on that next time. The cake kind of rose funny, like it needed a bit more leavening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2008
This cake was fantastic, everyone I make it for loves it even the pickiest eaters. I am always changing up the flavors and sometimes even add a bit of rum to the recipe. The only thing that I do differently is brushing on the glaze in layers while the cake is still hot so that it can soak into the cake. Then I chill the cake for a few hours then add powdered sugar to the glaze mixture and add a final coat before serving or wrapping individually. Thank you very much for this great recipe, I will cherish it always.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Christiansburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Vinton, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2001
this is a very good cake I made it for my cooking class project it turned out real good the teacher loved it and asked for the recipe! i got an a+
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by The Real Cake Baker
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2007
This is a very good pound cake. it has the same ingredients of the 7-up pound cake with the exception of the milk for 7-up and all of the flavors. I did add a pinch of salt to the flour mixture. Excellent, thanks a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Real Cake Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2005
Love Pound Cakes, and this one is superb!! Play with your extracts, going by personal taste, but the combo here is very good, only thing I did different was use real rum. Be aware though, my cake was done in an hour, not the 1 1/2 it called for. Maybe I had my oven set wrong, will have chance to test it again, as I know I'll be making this winner often!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
I make this cake every weekend just about. This cake is perfect and wonderful. This cake deserves 10 stars
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pinkdreams

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Perfect Flourless Orange Cake

This light, moist orange cake has complex flavors and is completely flourless.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States