Five Flavor Pound Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2003
Hello gang! LueWana here reviewing yet another note worthy recipe. I found this cake to be very moist and it holds up well. Will last a week and still maintain it's flavor and moistness as long as it is either wrapped well in plastic wrap or placed on a cakestand/plate with lid. I also subbed some items. Not being very big on extracts and preferring truer flavors, I used a bit of vanilla bean, one bean to be exact, and opted for fresh lemon zest, about 1/4 of a tsp. I left out the coconut extract, and used Puerto Rican Dark(spiced)instead of the rum extract. The end result was fabulous! This is a basic pound cake recipe that will allow you use the flavorings or extracts that you prefer. I tried this recipe again using just vanilla and lemon zest and still obtained spectacular results. Watch your baking time, adjust it according to the type/size pan you are using. I used the Fleur d'lis pan and had enough batter left over to make a few individual bundt cakes. Hope this review helps or gives you some new ideas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
92 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LUEWANA

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2006
Wonderful, delicious recipe! I used orange, rum, almond, coconut and vanilla extract, since that is what I had on hand. The glaze is a must, makes the cake so extra wonderful! I did not pour the glaze over the cake, I brushed it on with a pastry brush. One problem, it boiled over the 12 cup bundt pan I used..next time I will use less of the batter in the bundt pan, then maybe make a small loaf also. This pound cake has to be the best cake I have ever eaten. Everyone at work raved about the taste and moistness. Thank you for such a wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Delmar, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fruitland, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2007
This cake was simple to make, it came out perfect! The only substitution made, was using various flavors of extracts - I used what was on hand (almond, vanilla butter nut, lemon, banana). The cake is so moist and flavorful...It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2002
Excellent, excellent, excellent!! Very moist and buttery--baked up perfectly (1 hr 20 min) and made a nice presentation. Did not need a glaze at all. Very flavorful and still wonderful after 3 days. Will add this one to my permanent file.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2006
I used orange extract instead of lemon. The coconut extract "took over", so I would cut back on that next time. The cake kind of rose funny, like it needed a bit more leavening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2008
This cake was fantastic, everyone I make it for loves it even the pickiest eaters. I am always changing up the flavors and sometimes even add a bit of rum to the recipe. The only thing that I do differently is brushing on the glaze in layers while the cake is still hot so that it can soak into the cake. Then I chill the cake for a few hours then add powdered sugar to the glaze mixture and add a final coat before serving or wrapping individually. Thank you very much for this great recipe, I will cherish it always.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Christiansburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Vinton, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2001
this is a very good cake I made it for my cooking class project it turned out real good the teacher loved it and asked for the recipe! i got an a+
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by The Real Cake Baker
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2007
This is a very good pound cake. it has the same ingredients of the 7-up pound cake with the exception of the milk for 7-up and all of the flavors. I did add a pinch of salt to the flour mixture. Excellent, thanks a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Real Cake Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2005
Love Pound Cakes, and this one is superb!! Play with your extracts, going by personal taste, but the combo here is very good, only thing I did different was use real rum. Be aware though, my cake was done in an hour, not the 1 1/2 it called for. Maybe I had my oven set wrong, will have chance to test it again, as I know I'll be making this winner often!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
I make this cake every weekend just about. This cake is perfect and wonderful. This cake deserves 10 stars
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pinkdreams

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Coconut Poke Cake

See how to make this moist coconut cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States