Five Flavor Pound Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2001
this is a very good cake I made it for my cooking class project it turned out real good the teacher loved it and asked for the recipe! i got an a+
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2001
This cake is absolutely fabulous. I e-mailed the receipe to a friend in Texas and she called me raving about it. It makes a wonderful Christmas cake or is just great anytime.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2002
This is the BEST tasting cake!! I used butter/nut; vanilla; orange & coconut flavorings and it turned out beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2002
Excellent, excellent, excellent!! Very moist and buttery--baked up perfectly (1 hr 20 min) and made a nice presentation. Did not need a glaze at all. Very flavorful and still wonderful after 3 days. Will add this one to my permanent file.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2003
Hello gang! LueWana here reviewing yet another note worthy recipe. I found this cake to be very moist and it holds up well. Will last a week and still maintain it's flavor and moistness as long as it is either wrapped well in plastic wrap or placed on a cakestand/plate with lid. I also subbed some items. Not being very big on extracts and preferring truer flavors, I used a bit of vanilla bean, one bean to be exact, and opted for fresh lemon zest, about 1/4 of a tsp. I left out the coconut extract, and used Puerto Rican Dark(spiced)instead of the rum extract. The end result was fabulous! This is a basic pound cake recipe that will allow you use the flavorings or extracts that you prefer. I tried this recipe again using just vanilla and lemon zest and still obtained spectacular results. Watch your baking time, adjust it according to the type/size pan you are using. I used the Fleur d'lis pan and had enough batter left over to make a few individual bundt cakes. Hope this review helps or gives you some new ideas!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
90 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LUEWANA

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2003
Love this cake!! Making it for my company christmas party! I am sure it will be a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2005
made this tonight!! it was easy and delicious!! only change i made was adding two tsps of the spices to the cake and then using an additional 1 tsp to make the glaze. i also used 151 rum. yum!! will make a few more this holiday season. thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANDREA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2005
Love Pound Cakes, and this one is superb!! Play with your extracts, going by personal taste, but the combo here is very good, only thing I did different was use real rum. Be aware though, my cake was done in an hour, not the 1 1/2 it called for. Maybe I had my oven set wrong, will have chance to test it again, as I know I'll be making this winner often!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2006
This pound cake was fantastic. The best I've had in a long time. The flavor combination was great. I used my own blend of flavors: lemon, orange, vanilla, coconut and almond. Will keep this in the recipe file.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2006
EXCELLENT!!! very moist excellent flavor and very easy to make. did not have butter flavor! cake was excellent without it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beaumont, Texas, USA
Living In: Missouri City, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Perfect Flourless Orange Cake

This light, moist orange cake has complex flavors and is completely flourless.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States