Five Flavor Pound Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2007
This is a wonderful cake! I don't usually add glaze to my pound cakes, but this one was an exception. Very Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Gotaas Carter

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Evergreen, Colorado, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by The Real Cake Baker
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2007
This is a very good pound cake. it has the same ingredients of the 7-up pound cake with the exception of the milk for 7-up and all of the flavors. I did add a pinch of salt to the flour mixture. Excellent, thanks a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Real Cake Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: May 8, 2007
Excellent. I used the pound cake as the base for a torte that I made. First I used a store bought mix, made it, took a nibble and promptly threw it all out. I found this recipe and thought I would give it a try. I did not have butter or coconut extract on hand, however, I did have Mexican vanilla that has a heavy scent of coconut ... smells like suntan oil, seriously. I used that plus regular vanilla, the lemon extract and almond extract in the cake itself. It was outstanding. I will make this one again and again. Just say no to store bought mixes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2006
I used orange extract instead of lemon. The coconut extract "took over", so I would cut back on that next time. The cake kind of rose funny, like it needed a bit more leavening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2006
Wonderful, delicious recipe! I used orange, rum, almond, coconut and vanilla extract, since that is what I had on hand. The glaze is a must, makes the cake so extra wonderful! I did not pour the glaze over the cake, I brushed it on with a pastry brush. One problem, it boiled over the 12 cup bundt pan I used..next time I will use less of the batter in the bundt pan, then maybe make a small loaf also. This pound cake has to be the best cake I have ever eaten. Everyone at work raved about the taste and moistness. Thank you for such a wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Delmar, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fruitland, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2006
EXCELLENT!!! very moist excellent flavor and very easy to make. did not have butter flavor! cake was excellent without it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beaumont, Texas, USA
Living In: Missouri City, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2006
This pound cake was fantastic. The best I've had in a long time. The flavor combination was great. I used my own blend of flavors: lemon, orange, vanilla, coconut and almond. Will keep this in the recipe file.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2005
Love Pound Cakes, and this one is superb!! Play with your extracts, going by personal taste, but the combo here is very good, only thing I did different was use real rum. Be aware though, my cake was done in an hour, not the 1 1/2 it called for. Maybe I had my oven set wrong, will have chance to test it again, as I know I'll be making this winner often!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2005
made this tonight!! it was easy and delicious!! only change i made was adding two tsps of the spices to the cake and then using an additional 1 tsp to make the glaze. i also used 151 rum. yum!! will make a few more this holiday season. thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANDREA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2003
Love this cake!! Making it for my company christmas party! I am sure it will be a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States