Five Flavor Pound Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2007
This is a wonderful cake! I don't usually add glaze to my pound cakes, but this one was an exception. Very Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Gotaas Carter

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Evergreen, Colorado, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by The Real Cake Baker
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2007
This is a very good pound cake. it has the same ingredients of the 7-up pound cake with the exception of the milk for 7-up and all of the flavors. I did add a pinch of salt to the flour mixture. Excellent, thanks a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Real Cake Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: May 8, 2007
Excellent. I used the pound cake as the base for a torte that I made. First I used a store bought mix, made it, took a nibble and promptly threw it all out. I found this recipe and thought I would give it a try. I did not have butter or coconut extract on hand, however, I did have Mexican vanilla that has a heavy scent of coconut ... smells like suntan oil, seriously. I used that plus regular vanilla, the lemon extract and almond extract in the cake itself. It was outstanding. I will make this one again and again. Just say no to store bought mixes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2006
I used orange extract instead of lemon. The coconut extract "took over", so I would cut back on that next time. The cake kind of rose funny, like it needed a bit more leavening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2006
Wonderful, delicious recipe! I used orange, rum, almond, coconut and vanilla extract, since that is what I had on hand. The glaze is a must, makes the cake so extra wonderful! I did not pour the glaze over the cake, I brushed it on with a pastry brush. One problem, it boiled over the 12 cup bundt pan I used..next time I will use less of the batter in the bundt pan, then maybe make a small loaf also. This pound cake has to be the best cake I have ever eaten. Everyone at work raved about the taste and moistness. Thank you for such a wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Delmar, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fruitland, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2006
EXCELLENT!!! very moist excellent flavor and very easy to make. did not have butter flavor! cake was excellent without it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beaumont, Texas, USA
Living In: Missouri City, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2006
This pound cake was fantastic. The best I've had in a long time. The flavor combination was great. I used my own blend of flavors: lemon, orange, vanilla, coconut and almond. Will keep this in the recipe file.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2005
Love Pound Cakes, and this one is superb!! Play with your extracts, going by personal taste, but the combo here is very good, only thing I did different was use real rum. Be aware though, my cake was done in an hour, not the 1 1/2 it called for. Maybe I had my oven set wrong, will have chance to test it again, as I know I'll be making this winner often!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2005
made this tonight!! it was easy and delicious!! only change i made was adding two tsps of the spices to the cake and then using an additional 1 tsp to make the glaze. i also used 151 rum. yum!! will make a few more this holiday season. thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANDREA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2003
Love this cake!! Making it for my company christmas party! I am sure it will be a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Perfect Flourless Orange Cake

This light, moist orange cake has complex flavors and is completely flourless.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States