Five Flavor Pound Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2008
I made this pound cake for a strawberry torte out of the Pampered Chef cookbook that called for a boughten cake...I am so glad I didn't rush to the store and decided to make it from scratch instead...this was perfect! I did not have all of the flavorings, so used vanilla, almond, and butter - a teaspoon of each. I baked it in a 17x12 in. pan for 1 hour...was a little too much batter for that size pan and don't think I will bake it as long next time...but I will definitely be using this cake the next time the recipe calls for "store bought"!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2008
I made this cake for a friend's birthday party and it was a hit! It was super moist and full of flavour, I had to change a couple of things due to what I had on hand in my pantry. I used some lime zest and juice as well as an ounce of real rum instead of the extract for the glaze, and since I had run out of milk I used coconut milk and omitted the coconut extract...Thank you, I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ambear

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milton, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2008
Five stars for flavor and texture! I must say, however, that the recipe should state that it will not fit in a bundt pan. I kept out some of the batter to put in a couple small pans, but everything ended up running over a bit. This is a rich, super sweet dessert - perfect for those special occasions!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ruth

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2008
This cake is the best cake I have ever tasted. Made it for the 4th of July and everyone loved it and wanted more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Living In: Chesterfield, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2008
I thought the flavor was wonderful, however the glaze made it a little too sweet for my taste. Next time I think I will just dust the cake with powdered sugar instead of pouring on the glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AUTUMNJOY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2008
This cake is to die for!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2007
I LOVED THIS CAKE IT IS REALLY GOOD AND VERY SOFT.THANKS TERRY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bucket of cookies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2007
Awesome cake. Lots of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Irondale, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2007
My sister-in-law and her friends rave over this cake, and she actually pays me to make it for her. So much flour and sugar, you need to use a huge bowl.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dori

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2007
This cake was simple to make, it came out perfect! The only substitution made, was using various flavors of extracts - I used what was on hand (almond, vanilla butter nut, lemon, banana). The cake is so moist and flavorful...It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Pound Cake III

A classic recipe for a cream cheese pound cake.

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States