Five Flavor Pound Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2009
This pound cake is yummy! I made it for my family and it was gone by morning. planning to make it again today (only 2 days later) The only thing I did different was omited the almond extract. I also thicked the sauce for on top slightly. highly recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
I have made this cake 3 times. The first time was a disaster I used self rising flour instead of all-purpose so it was salty and spilled all over the stove. I made it again for Thanksgiving and the batter made a bundt and a loaf. I made it again for Christmas to take to work. I go tmany complements on this cake. It was the best cake I ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2009
This cake is absolutely amazing! I am not much of a pound cake person, but this one is GREAT! Thank you so much for posting this recipe, this went into my book of favorites immediately.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Reeder, North Dakota, USA
Living In: Harrisburg, South Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
This pound is very good. My husband ate almost the whole thing. He loved the crust it made and my kids said, it was the bomb. Excellent recipe. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shron

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Beloit, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2008
WOW! I have never made a pound cake before. I didn't have a selection of extracts to use, so I went with vanilla extract, some coconut rum, and fresh lime juice. The batter itself was unbelievably delicious (I'm a spoon-licker). And when it came out of the oven, it was sooooooo moist and perfect. I melted some white chocolate chips with some lime juice, a little milk, and some confectioner's sugar to make an 'icing.' All the guys at work thought it was heaven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Sewell

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oceanside, California, USA
Living In: Flowery Branch, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2008
This recipe was a fabulous base to work from. However, I did make some modifications. I only used 1/2 teaspoon of each of the 4 flavors (almond, lemon, orange, raspberry), however, I used 1 teaspoon of vanilla and 1 teaspoon of coconut to balance the flavors. Also, I used 7-up instead of milk. However, I did add about a 1/2 cup of evaporated milk to the recipe. Finally, I made the glaze out of sugar as the recipe suggest, then I added 1/2 cup of confectioners sugar to it. This cake was a real hit for Thanksgiving. Everyone is still raving about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
This is the best pound cake I've ever made and eaten - Oh so moist and delicious. The flavourings can easily be substituted for what you or prefer without affecting the quality. I used this recipe for a wedding cake and everyone raved about it. Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2008
This cake was fantastic, everyone I make it for loves it even the pickiest eaters. I am always changing up the flavors and sometimes even add a bit of rum to the recipe. The only thing that I do differently is brushing on the glaze in layers while the cake is still hot so that it can soak into the cake. Then I chill the cake for a few hours then add powdered sugar to the glaze mixture and add a final coat before serving or wrapping individually. Thank you very much for this great recipe, I will cherish it always.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Christiansburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Vinton, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2008
I thought this was really good. I only had butter, vanilla, and lemon flavoring. I thought it had too much lemon flavor but my guests LOVED it and I brought one to work and they loved it. Very moist.... It does make an odd amount of batter. I made one loaf and one small bundt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Franklin, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Uxbridge, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2008
I hate to disagree with all other reviews here... but I found this cake to be just so-so. The flavors all seem to be at odds with each other and the glaze adds to the flavor competition. Yes, it's moist but the texture is not nearly as nice as other pound cakes I have made. It is very, very sweet and the glaze seemed to add more density, making it heavy, even for a pound cake. So... it's OK but not something I will add to my list of favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Perfect Flourless Orange Cake

This light, moist orange cake has complex flavors and is completely flourless.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States