Five Flavor Pound Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2009
Thanks for the great recipe!! Wonderful flavors, everyone LOVED it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
This cake is wonderful. My family loves & my daughter wants me to make another for her b-day. I did not read directions correctly so I put the whole amt of extracts in the cake. It is yummy that way. We will eat this one quite often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2009
FABULOUS! This is now my go-to recipe for dense, moist, yummy yellow cake. I turned this recipe into a homemade rum cake (all the other rum cake recipes seem to start with "buy a box of cake mix..."!) by substituting rum for all the extracts except for vanilla. YUM! I used a bundt pan, and while in the oven the cake rose a bit over the top, as it cooled it settled down to just filling it to the brim -- a perfect size! Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2009
Beacuse of the way the recipe is written, I confused the amount of sugar that was suppsoed to go in the cake with the amount that was supposed to be in the glaze and actually on put one cup of sugar in my cake. I also added orange extract which technically made it a Seven Flavor Pund Cake (if you include the butter extract as a flavor). I was kind of bummed about not having enough sugar so to compensate, I added an extra cup of sugar to the glaze and poured it on thick when the cake was fresh out of the oven. You couldn't even tell the difference. The cake was delish and all was great at the end of the day. In all honesty, I believe if you use 3 cups of sugar in the cake there's no need for the glaze... it would be too much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Apple D

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2009
ABSOLUTELY AMAZING! This is the best cake I have ever made. So many compliments & requests for the recipe. Worth every calorie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2009
Very good cake, extremely moist. I followed the directions exactly. A couple things should have been mentioned in the recipe. First, you cannot fit all batter into a bundt pan-it almost overflowed and when flipped onto a platter it didn't look as good because it had baked out of the pan and looked flat and odd shaped on the bottom. So, do not use all batter for this cake. Secondly, it didn't say to let it sit for 10 minutes or so before you flip and glaze. A hot cake cannot come right out of the pan. Let it sit for awhile and then glaze it. If you want to fit all of the glaze on you will have to brush it on until it all soaks in. Great flavor overall. The texture seemed a little too soft to cut nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blossom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sarona, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
This was the first time I made a pound cake that incorporated so many flavors so beautifully. I truly enjoyed this as it brought me back to my childhood of summer cookouts in the country. Pound cake is not something I make often but when I do, I will surely use this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: Miami, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2009
This is the one I tried so far, not the sour cream pound cake. This came out perfect the first time and I enjoyed the granulated sugar glaze versus a powdered sugar glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookingood
Home Town: Harlem, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2009
I must say that this is one of the best pound cakes I've had. A must try!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2009
wonderful! Will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Annandale, Virginia, USA
Living In: Barnegat, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Perfect Flourless Orange Cake

This light, moist orange cake has complex flavors and is completely flourless.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States