Five Flavor Pound Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2009
This is an excellent cake. It's nice and moist. I didn't have rum extract or the buttered flavored extract, I did have brandy extract and used almond extract in the cake and in the glaze. My husband loves it. He said I can make it again! Highly recomend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
The cake was perfect and I'm a novice baker. Moist and lots of flavor. So good my BF had some with his breakfast this morning. And he doesn't go gaga over sweets at all. The only issue is the "glaze". Didn't suit me, so I will try something else!! But printed this out and it is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
I tried this recipe over the weekend. It was delicious. It came out great. The only thing I changed was I use twice the amount of almond extract. Excellent recipe definitely a keeper. YUMMY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Josie

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Davie, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2009
This recipe is great. I was looking for a 5 flavored pound cake recipe to make a pound cake like my aunt. Since I found this recipe, everybody wants me to give it to them. There is never any cake left when I make it. The only thing I change is I use 1/3 cup of sugar and 1/3 cup of water for the syrup. 1 cup of sugar and 1/2 cup of water is too much for me. But excellent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trinesha J

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2009
Delicious cake, very moist. I loved how all the flavors combined so well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2009
I don't know what went wrong. The cake was very wet and had a wierd after taste(I think it was the almond in the glaze-wet stuff). My family would not eat it and I ended up throwing it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2009
i made this cake on Monday my family loved it but i did not like it.but i did not use butter extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2009
Oh my, do yourself a favor and make this cake! I made a citrus pound cake and everyone was so excited to eat a second piece. Normally I end up throwing out the last couple pieces of pie/cake, but not with this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ernsk

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Erlanger, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
I like to review a recipe as it is written, not rate it with changes made. This was good but I wasn't as huge a fan as most. I would not bake it quite as long. I also prefer a more dense texture to a pound cake. This was lighter like a yellow cake. The flavor was good but it seemed very strong and syrupy sweet where it was soaked in, and lacking in the middle. Not bad but I think I'll keep looking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUGAR88

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2009
This is the absolute best pound cake. I especially love it with strawberrys for strawberry shortcake! Everyone that I have served it to has loved it. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

Perfect Flourless Orange Cake

This light, moist orange cake has complex flavors and is completely flourless.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States