Five Cup Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2006
I make this recipe often and don't use the fruit cocktail. I think that makes it six cup salad instead of five. It is really good though and keeps great in the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hustonville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2006
This was just okay. It had been a while since I've had this, so I didn't remember the exact ingredients. After making it I remembered that my mom always used crushed pineapple and no fruit cocktail. I didn't care for this near as much as the way I'm used to having it made. Also, I cut back on the sour cream and added a little sugar, because I could taste a strong sour cream flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Sue

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lima, Ohio, USA
Living In: Long Beach, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2006
I'm not sure what went wrong here, but mine turned to a runny soupy mess and had no flavor. I drained all of the fruit really well, so I'm not sure what the problem was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2006
Wonderful (and wonderfully easy) recipe! I, like DEENIE65, didn't follow the cup rule, but it still turned out very well. I substituted fresh navel oranges for the mandarins, and marshmallow creme for the marshmallows (same measurements).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2006
OK, so it's another form of Ambrosia but it's still yummy isn't it? If your kids aren't coconut fans, omit the coconut and add more marshmallows. I did and it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2006
Came out great! Even those who don't care for sour cream all that much may like this dish. I used some of the fruit juice as others suggested, and the combination of the fruit juice and sour cream makes a great flavor combination. Very easy to adjust the types of fruit and amount of sour cream to your liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2005
I have made this several times - it's easy and delicious! My husband devours it every time. I especially like it in the hot summer months. Yumm!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2004
This recipe was a big hit. I substituted fresh grapes and whole maraschino cherries for the fruit cocktail. I didn't stick to the "cup" rule. I just combined the quantities of fruit and coconut I had, and added the sour cream to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEENIE65

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2004
This one is a keeper...if you like cherries use fruit cocktail with extra cherries like DelMonte's "Very Cherry". This is great for picnics or summer parties.I like to make it for Easter too~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LUCKYDUCKY

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2004
I omitted the fruit cocktail and added 1 c. coconut...turned out delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Pistachio Fluff Fruit Salad

Pistachio pudding mix combines with whipped topping and lots of fruit.

Rainbow Salad Jell-O® Mold

See how to make a fun and colorful dessert salad in a Jell-O mold.

Valentine's Day Salad

A celebratory strawberry Jell-O salad with lots of fresh fruit.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States