Five Cup Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2006
I make this recipe often and don't use the fruit cocktail. I think that makes it six cup salad instead of five. It is really good though and keeps great in the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hustonville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2006
This was just okay. It had been a while since I've had this, so I didn't remember the exact ingredients. After making it I remembered that my mom always used crushed pineapple and no fruit cocktail. I didn't care for this near as much as the way I'm used to having it made. Also, I cut back on the sour cream and added a little sugar, because I could taste a strong sour cream flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FREAKITIKI97

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lima, Ohio, USA
Living In: Long Beach, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2006
I'm not sure what went wrong here, but mine turned to a runny soupy mess and had no flavor. I drained all of the fruit really well, so I'm not sure what the problem was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2006
Wonderful (and wonderfully easy) recipe! I, like DEENIE65, didn't follow the cup rule, but it still turned out very well. I substituted fresh navel oranges for the mandarins, and marshmallow creme for the marshmallows (same measurements).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2006
OK, so it's another form of Ambrosia but it's still yummy isn't it? If your kids aren't coconut fans, omit the coconut and add more marshmallows. I did and it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2006
Came out great! Even those who don't care for sour cream all that much may like this dish. I used some of the fruit juice as others suggested, and the combination of the fruit juice and sour cream makes a great flavor combination. Very easy to adjust the types of fruit and amount of sour cream to your liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2005
I have made this several times - it's easy and delicious! My husband devours it every time. I especially like it in the hot summer months. Yumm!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2004
This recipe was a big hit. I substituted fresh grapes and whole maraschino cherries for the fruit cocktail. I didn't stick to the "cup" rule. I just combined the quantities of fruit and coconut I had, and added the sour cream to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEENIE65

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2004
This one is a keeper...if you like cherries use fruit cocktail with extra cherries like DelMonte's "Very Cherry". This is great for picnics or summer parties.I like to make it for Easter too~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LUCKYDUCKY

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2004
I omitted the fruit cocktail and added 1 c. coconut...turned out delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Instant Pistachio Salad

See how to make a simple dessert salad starring pistachio pudding.

Valentine's Day Salad

A celebratory strawberry Jell-O salad with lots of fresh fruit.

How to Make Macaroni Salad

This classic macaroni salad recipe is the ideal side for picnics and barbeques.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States