Five Can Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2014
Good starter recipe. I made these changes after making it as written... I replaced the chicken with canned crab. I replaced the cream of chicken with cream of shrimp (but my husband and I agreed that cream of celery or cream of onion would be good also). Instead of the noodles, I prepared some stove top stuffing and placed it on the bottom of the dish (sprayed with Pam first). I added some minced garlic and finely diced onion (sautéed in butter until translucent). I added some shredded zucchini (but we thought peas, broccoli, cauliflower, eggplant, parsnip or turnip would be great too {we like to "hide" veggies in dishes like this because my father-in-law and kids are "veggie-phobic"}). I'm from New England, so I also added a few TBL of Old Bay and I added 4 oz cream cheese, diced, into the soup and crab mixture. It was really good. I also topped it with some French's Fried Onions and fresh chives for a pop of freshness at the end. Thank you! It was yummy and we'll make it again, adjusting until it's just right!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Traskwood, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
I have a recipe similar to this 3 large chicken breast, cooked and diced 1 10 oz condensed cream of mushroom 1 5 oz can evaporated milk 1 26 oz can condensed cream of chicken 1 large bag of chow mien noodles. Do everything the exact same. Its not soupy at all. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
3 stars on the original recipe as is.... 4 stars with the added ideas. Put cream cheese in - helped a lot with the thickness. And I didn't use all the milk. I also added fresh mushrooms. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2010
Decent comfort food. I used about 80% of the milk can so it wouldn't be as soupy. I also added a little cream cheese. Noodle texture a little odd, but palatable
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
Way to soupy and no flavor. But thanks anyway
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Linda

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2009
I made this about a year ago from an old "office" cookbook just because it seemed too strange. It was tasty, but I'm not planning on making it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2009
Really liked it but it was a little soupy' and the chow mein noodles were a little "odd". But what I did was replace the noodles with a can of "veg-all" veggies.Bake at 350 for about 25-30 min, untill nice and bubbley. Remove from oven and top with sleeve of crushed Ritz crackers and a few pats of butter, put back in oven for another 7-9 min. Serve over rice or sliced potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dadeuel

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mc Donough, New York, USA
Living In: Americus, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2009
Followed these directions to a "T". I really wanted to like it, but the chow mein noodles were soft and chewy...so it was kinda gross. My husband couldn't even eat this...it might be good with out the chow mein "chewy-ness" going on...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2009
This was okay at best. I did stir in one package of frozen broccoli and a couple cups of shredded sharp cheddar. And added pepper. We all ate it. It just needs a little more umph.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2009
Just excellent :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Noodle Casserole I

See how to make a terrific weeknight casserole.

Pesto Chicken Penne Casserole

A creamy, one-pan chicken pasta with Alfredo and pesto sauces.

Chicken Florentine Casserole

See how to make a quick-and-easy, creamy chicken casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States