Fisherman's Quick Fish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2005
This is an excellent recipe that can be used with almost any fish. I used a thin fresh walleye filet. Due to the high oven temperature, the secret to success is to use a thin cut of fish. I recommend 1” thick or less. Too thick and the crust will burn before the fish is done. Since the recipe calls for cod filets, most frozen cod is usually too thick and should be horizontally cut in half before applying the crust and baking. I also took other reviewers advice and used the salt & vinegar chips. I recommend using a food processor to “crush” the chips. Once the chips were crushed, I added the cheese to the processor and gave it just a couple of more rotations to evenly mix the cheese and chips
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
256 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2007
So, this dish is so yummy! I did'nt have chips or the cheese recomended. So I used ritz crackers and monterey jack cheese, adding grated parmesean to the mix. After marinating the fish in the dressing, I sprinkled it on both sides with garlic salt, black pepper, and red chili pepper. It came out great -watch your hand with the chili pepper if you dont like spicy food. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
183 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
This is a delicious TASTING recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
109 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2006
Yummy! A few reviews that said this was not tasty?? Coat heavily in any creamy salad dressing, make sure the fish are not touching. I used more chips and cheese than called for, sliced the cod thinner, and cooked 2 minutes longer. Next time I'm trying the vinegar and salt chips, but it was fine this way! My 15 year old son who hates fish, LOVED IT (everyone did). It tastes fried without immersing in oil ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
91 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cindy Capps Lepp
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2008
MADE IT AGAIN...This time using Flounder...used up the ends of Green goddess and some Ranch dressing....again...5 star recipe! I love the fact that I used up the ends of bottles and the bottom of the chip bag...things you would normally just discard!So quick to make too! UPDATE! Used whiting this time, a stronger fish and had to sub Mozzarella and Mexican Parm, exellant crust on top!Mixed the cheese and chips in a ziploc, added parsley for prettiness!PREVIOUSLY: SSoooooo easy! I used Tilapia, and used mostly sharp cheddar but added a couple of tablespoons of blue cheese and pepper jack trying to use up some bits and pieces of leftover cheeses. I piled the topping on (i mayt have made extra topping since I just eyeballed it. Good way to use up the bottom of the chip bag! The timing and temperature were perfect....the only tip I would add is: Spray or grease the pan really, really well! The cheese that melted off the edges of the fish wanted to stick and you don't want to fight with it to get it off the pan...use foil lining,too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy Capps Lepp

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Titusville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2005
This is my first time writing a review but I had to because I love this recipe so much. I hate to cook but this recipe is so easy to make and it turns out wonderful every time. My boyfriend (who hates fish) practically eats the entire thing when I make this. The only thing I do differently is marinate the fish in the Italian dressing for a longer time. Also, I took the advice of the previous reviews and make sure my chips are Salt & Vinegar (and I add some jalapeno ones for a little spice) because it truly adds to the flavor. Thanks Caroline for a great meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2005
This was so quick and easy to make, I love it. I didn't have any creamy Italian dressing so I used regular Italian dressing and it turned out delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2007
Not a bad recipe for those who really don't like fish. The flavor of the fish is lost in all the stuff you did to it. Maybe some like that, but I'll never make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by George

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fox River Grove, Illinois, USA
Living In: Wisconsin Rapids, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2002
This is one of the better fish recipes I've tried in a long time. Really liked it, and very easy to put together. I used cod, Nacho-Cheese flavored Doritoes, and Ceaser (sp?) dressing, as I did not have creamy Italian. I also increased the shredded cheddar in topping to 1 cup. Also, baked fish at 425 for 12 minutes. Yum! I served this with brown rice and asparagus--wonderful combo. Will make this again--next time I will use the spicy Doritoes. Topping is great! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2002
This was a great recipe. I used cod, doritoes and I marinated ina combination of ranch and italian dressing. Was very tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 196) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Fish Curry

Tasty white fish fillets are baked in a spicy curry sauce.

Quick and Easy Mexican Chicken

Seasoned chicken is topped with salsa and cheese and baked to bubbly.

Crispy Fish

Discover the secret to perfectly crisp, golden-brown fried fish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States