Fisherman's Catch Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2004
I made some minor changes, and loved this! I used Haddock, added cubed red potatoes,corn and 3 cloves chopped garlic. I also used a can of diced tomatoes (subbed for the whole tom.) and used a bit more salt and rosemary. We had friends over and they couldn't get enough. Thanks for a great one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christi Fredrick

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2000
This chowder is a full meal deal with flavor to spare. Feel free to inovate with seafoods that are in season or more reasonable. If you do look for a variety of textures and flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2001
We loved this dish. Used Halibut and it turned out super yummy... Even our three year old liked it. My husband added mushrooms and garlic.. Can't wait to have it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2004
I added cubed potatoes to this chowder. We loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2005
My husband loved this chowder! I'm not a fish person, and I used cod, so it was kind of fishy tasting, but I could tell that the base was good and that if I use flounder or haddock next time, which are milder, this will be outstanding for me. My husband said I could serve this to company! I think I'll try the potatoes next time and leave out the cream, because I like a tomato type base better than creamy. I just made this today and I'm going to try again this weekend with a few modifications because I think I'll really like this with a milder fish! Thanks Corwynn! I'm always looking for something new and good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2006
This was great! I made some changes because of ingredients on hand, I used fresh cubed salmon, taking care about bones. To cut calories, I omitted the cream at the end. It was delicious, worth the effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2006
This was delicious! I used a bigger can of whole crushed tomoatoes (1 lb and 12 oz); at first I was worried but the tomatoes were easy to mash up when the stew was finished and the larger chunks of tomato added to the texture of the soup. I used halibut, and it was delicious but expensive. I will try it with cod next time. I was surprised the fish held up in the crock pot, and it was still delicious and tender. I waited to add the herbs until the last hour as well (I've heard long cooking can make herbs lose their flavor). I would definitely add the cream/butter/flour combo at the end. I used heavy cream, and it was a small price to pay for such a thick and delicious soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2008
Outstanding! I have been making this for years and everyone that has ever tried it loved it. A great first course if you are doing a nice dinner party. No matter how you adjust the recipe (fish, veggie quantity, etc) it always comes out tasting like an expensive restaurant dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
excellent - not a fan of fish, but will make this time and again as this chowder carries the flavor of the fish (used fresh water fish) but does not overwhelm and retains the concept of a chowder, not fish with a sauce. served for friends and was rewarded with raves.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2010
First time at this Chowder and my entire family loved it, made some slight additions from previous recommendations, double rosemary, added 3 gloves of garlic, 1 cup of frozen corn and 1 russet potato. it's a definite do again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fish Chowder

The fishermen of Bodega Bay shared this 5-star chowder recipe.

Seafood Chowder

See how to make a low-fat chowder that’s creamy and full of flavor.

Chef John's Bay Scallop Chowder

See how to make creamy chowder with scallops, potatoes, and bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States