Fisherman's Catch Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 10, 2012
This was GREAT!! I cooked the vegetables, herbs, clam juce and wine during the day in the crock pot, then added the cubed fish during the last hour. Flour, butter and cream at the end. I also added 5 baby red potatoes. This soup is really good! A nice crockpot addition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
After reading quite a few of the reviews, I was sure I would enjoy this. Afterall, we are a family of cod eaters. Well, I think my expectations were too high. I followed the recipe as is, but found it too bland. We didn't find it too fishy, just not alot of flavor. I ended up adding more seasoning, and some tabasco sauce. It was OK, but unfortunately, I won't be making this again. Sorry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Babbs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Photo by MN Nice
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2012
Had very good flavor. I used cod which at first tastes a bit fishy, so next time I might try using a different fish. I added two potatoes and I think it was a very good addition. Made it a bit more substantial. The only white wine I had was white zin and I think it was fine. Would try a dryer wine if I have it next time. Otherwise followed the recipe. The cod held up well in the slow cooker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MN Nice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Biwabik, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Virginia, Minnesota, USA
Photo by jrbaker
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
I used mahi mahi since I had it on hand (any firm white fish will do) and this chowder was wonderful! Next time I think I'll use halibut or cod since they have a milder flavor. It's incredibly savory with the tomatoes, clam juice, and white wine creating a broth that begs to be soaked up with a nice crusty bread. I wouldn't change anything, and will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jrbaker

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
A very tasty soup. I added shrimp and clams along with an extra jar of clam juice as the recipe looked skimpy as the soup was cooking. It turned out great and I plan to make it again using other types of seafood.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
We used northern pike in this recipe, added a couple diced potatoes and substituted karoway seeds for the rosemary. OUTSTANDING!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
Delicious! Tried it the first time with flounder and clams 'cause I couldn't find plain clam juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
This was sooo good! I made a few minor changes...made it on the stove top, added some diced potatoes and corn, just because I had some in the fridge, leftover. Also used half cod and half whiting, again because it's what I had on hand. It was a huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
Wow is this delicious. I have a strict diet gluten-free / dairy-free diet and had to substitute the butter, flour and cream. For the butter I used margarine, for the flour I used a GF standard mix and for the cream I used light coconut milk. I was not sure how that would all work out in this meal. IT WAS DELICIOUS!!! By far one of the best slow cooker recipes we have made. My husband and I both work (luckily have a programmable slow cooker) and it sat on warm for 3 hours before we could get to it. None of the meal was dry and the flavor was spot on. I look forward to trying this with other types of seafood. Great Recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
This stuff turned out great. Have made it several times. Used whitefish and cod. Amazing how good it tastes and it was the first time. Try this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fish Chowder

The fishermen of Bodega Bay shared this 5-star chowder recipe.

Seafood Chowder

See how to make a low-fat chowder that’s creamy and full of flavor.

Chef John's Bay Scallop Chowder

See how to make creamy chowder with scallops, potatoes, and bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States