Fish Tacos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2014
Great recipe! Loved, loved, loved the sauce! Used Mahi Mahi instead of cod because that was what I had on hand and it was yummy! What I really liked was the batter used to coat the fish. The next time I make fish and sticks I will use this batter to coat my fish fillets.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JXGALIK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
OMG! Delicious is not the word. I didn't make the batter, just dipped the tilapia in milk and panko crumbs. It's the sauce that makes it, though. Added some red and yellow peppers along with purple cabbage for color. A little avocado and pico to top it off. Good Eats!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charita

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Evansville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Maryville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
The beer batter posted is excellent. However, it is sufficient for at least 2 pounds of fish. Otherwise, the taste is amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mentor, Ohio, USA
Living In: Albany, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
I was looking for an amazing recipe for fish Tacos, trying to introduce some new flavors to many of my families' boring meals. I came across this recipe and was a little intimidated at first to try this as it's a little time consuming. However, it worked out well and the video was a big help. I used Blue Moon beer. I didn't have any cumin so in a desperate move I used a pinch of taco seasoning. Those are the only different ingredients I used. The flavors were perfect. My husband ( who hates every thing) loved the flavor as well. The sauce on it's own not so fascinating , but once combined with the fish, cabbage, avocado, & onion (our toppings) it was delish!! I can't wait to serve this at my next get together. Ps, the sauce over brown rice taste great as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
If you want the real white sauce for the fish tacos you mix equal amounts of mayonnaise and sour cream, and lime juice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by michelle

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
I just made the batter from this recipe--delicious and easy! I was surprised how well it turned out. Next time I'll make the mayo, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2013
I've used this recipe for years, and love it mostly for the sauce, but I gotta add my 2 cents here. I PROMISE you will love this...I pan fry talapia with a little Panko. Sometimes I substitute shrimp. Melt a little sharp cheddar cheese on the tortilla before you pile on your toppings. Now...include the following for your toppings: shredded red cabbage, cilantro, avocado, and bleu cheese crumbles. AWESOME. Also, for my sauce, I use plain greek yogurt rather than plain yogurt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2013
On the sauce, I followed the recipe except for the dill. I hate dill. Well, I did add 1/8 tsp of ancho chile powder. I so wanted to fry the fish, but my new diet and inner voice said no.... This time I listened. I pan sautéed and seasoned the fish with salt and pepper and chili powder. I free styled a cabbage slaw. I finely shredded some cabbage and a carrot. I made a slaw sauce with some honey, lime juice, oregano, and cumin. It was amazing. This Recipe is great because the sauce and slaw can be made ahead of time and can be doubled or tripled for multiple meals during the work week. If you pan cook the fish or even bake it, dinner can be done in 15 or 20 minutes if the sauces are pre made. I made a guacamole and added it to the tacos. A squeeze of lime makes these perfect. I made these with California rock cod. This fish didn't cook well in the pan, it is a soft flake that kind of fell apart. This could also be user error (points to self). Plus side, the fish was incredibly moist and fresh tasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Callista

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eureka, California, USA
Living In: Sonoma, California, USA
Photo by 805star
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2013
This recipe was great! My tacos were so delish! This is my go to recipe for fish tacos in my home you won't be dissapointed super yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
I've never had fish tacos before, so I don't have any reference other than my first reaction. I followed the recipe except the beer batter. The sauce was on the spicy side, and although I liked it, the combination of fish, cabbage, and sauce did not do it for me. I even added cilantro and good pico de gallo. It seemed like lettuce would be better, and maybe onions. I'm sorry I can't explain better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 1,519) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Fish Tacos

See how to make 5-star San Diego-style fish tacos.

Baja Fish Tacos

See how to make marinated fish tacos on the grill.

Grilled Fish Tacos with Chipotle Lime Dressing

Tilapia filets turn into tasty fish tacos with a tangy adobo and lime dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States