Fish Tacos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2003
What made these tacos amazing was the white sauce. I was sceptical upon reading the ingredients, but it was awesome. The contrast in textures also made this a perfect meal. the crunchy battered fish with the soft tortillas and the cooling sauce...a masterpiece on the tongue. Do not forget to serve this with a cold beer. Also, my only criticism of this recipe was that the batter lacked "punch". We added a few dashes of salt to the fish immediately after being taken out of the fryer, it made a huge difference. We also served the tacos w/ a homemade salsa which was good, but probably not essential. Overall, this is a rockin' taco...I'll definitley make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
107 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2003
This was delicious and easy to make. I forgot to add the lime juice to the white sauce, but I used apple cider vinegar. Also, added some guacamole and chile oil to the taco. Can't wait to make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2003
Yum Yum this was great! I added some onion powder and garlic powder to the batter and used a little more salt than called for. Used extra cayenne in the sauce but I am a fan of spicy food. These were really good! I just tried this using the Maple Salmon recipe from this site as the fish (not breaded). It was delicious. Everyone especially loves the sauce. Make sure you heat the corn tortillas up well. Everyone especially loves it with the Maple Salmon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2003
These tacos are amazing!! I cut the cooking time done to 20 minutes by using a high quality breaded, frozen halibut. These take 20 minutes to bake and I used one filet for two tacos. I also used sour cream instead of yogurt. I did not add jalapeno peppers or capers or dill but I did add cilantro, garlic salt, and chili powder. Then on the finished taco I squeezed fresh lime. AWESOME!!! THANK YOU! THANK YOU!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2003
This is a great recipe. I used a little extra cayenne pepper, and doubled the jalapeno for extra kick. I also used sour cream for extra richness, and a tortilla pan to heat, but not fry, the corn tortillas. I was actually looking for a recipe for shrimp tacos, but was unsuccessful at finding one, so I used this recipe with jumbo breaded shrimp, which I oven baked, and cut in half, and the results were awesome! A very, very good recipe, and I'll be making this again soon, Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by My4NonBlondes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Astoria, Oregon, USA
Living In: Leesburg, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: May 4, 2003
I'm from San Diego too and although this is NOT a Rubio's fish taco, IT IS A VERY TASTY alternative!!! I thought was little on the spicy/hot side for me so I think next time I'll leave out the chopped jalepeno. It's the closest thing to being there...thank you....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2003
I substituted Tilapia for the Cod. It wasn't quite as "fishy" tasting. I've tried this recipe with both soft flour and hard corn tortillas - both are good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2003
Great recipe! I lived in San Diego for a year and used to frequent Rubio's, "home of the fish taco". We loved the taco's and this is about as close as you can get to the real thing. The only thing that I omitted was the capers in the white sauce, they probably would've been fine, I am just not a big fan of them. Thanks Tanya for a taste of my past!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2003
I'm from San Diego too, but no longer live there and boy have I been missing GOOD fish tacos! These are much better than Runio's even! I LOVED them! The only thing, the sauce was a bit too hot for me. Next time I will omit the jalepeno. I will be making these alot!! THANK YOU SO MUCH for this recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2003
My husband visited San Diego several years ago and he's been talking about fish tacos ever since! This recipe was the closest thing we've found to what he remembers. A note, though: After a few batches, he substituted half of the mayo with Miracle whip salad dressing and the other half with cole slaw dressing. The sauce was delicious. Thanks for what has become my favorite meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,538) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fish Tacos

See how to make 5-star San Diego-style fish tacos.

Baja Fish Tacos

See how to make marinated fish tacos on the grill.

Grilled Fish Tacos with Chipotle Lime Dressing

Tilapia filets turn into tasty fish tacos with a tangy adobo and lime dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States