Fish Tacos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 5, 2014
Myself and my family loved this! The sauce really is the star! I used a pkg of crispy crunchy cod from Sams Club which is delicious just baked in the oven. Made some pico de gallo, chopped some lettuce and warmed up flour and corn tortillas in a dry pan on the stove. I did use lite sour cream in place of yogurt and lite mayo. Will definitely be making again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2014
This was AWESOME!!!!! My husband loved it and so did the baby. :) I didn't have the cornstarch so I just omitted it and the batter was fine without it. The batter went on really thick so I scraped alot of it off, it only takes a tiny bit of batter. It cooks really quick. The sauce is AMAZING!!!!! The sauce combined with the beer battered fish really makes this dish! Can't say enough about how good the sauce is...INCREDIBLE! I used a whole jalapeño, about 3.5 inches long, and it wasn't too spicy at all. The capers went in fine, too, and I went heavy on the cumin because I LOVE cumin. I used Mexican crema instead of yogurt and it was great. The consistency wasn't runny, like the recipe said, it was very creamy and delicious. I also didn't have the dill but didn't miss it, perhaps it would have been even more amazing with it, haha! I didn't fry the tortillas, just warmed them, and this all came together so quick, it was great. Oh, also, I didn't deep-fry, I pan fried the fish in whole fillets, then chopped it up to put in the tacos. Great, great, great. I added chopped cilantro and sliced avocado to top the tacos off, and it was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by corazon79

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2014
Would not change a thing!!! Loved it and family did too!!!!! Will be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2014
This recipe is really good. Cooked it once a while back and my family loved it. They recently requested thtlat i make itagain and it was just as delicious as we remembered.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2014
Had my first fish taco at a restaurant, and wanted to make my own. These are top quality. My husband loved them so much that he won't take me out for them anymore, and that is fine with me. So easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2014
Me and my husband love this recipe. Great and easy to prepare - fler
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2014
This was wonderful! The batter was wonderful, I forgot to dip the fish in flour before the batter, and I pan fried them as I don't have a deep fryer...and still they were crispy and flakey! I left out the capers and substituted the dill for garlic powder in the sauce (I didn't have any), it was still really good but I will probably try it with next time...I can see how those would add an extra but of flavor. My husband was a bit unsure of the sauce, but he really liked it...said it was true to the kind if tacos you'd get down in ensinada. We are from San Diego, so it's nice to have a good recipe for home instead of going out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Megs

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2014
This was good very good. I used Mahi Mahi and it fried up beautifully. The sauce was excellent. Perhaps a little quibble with the cayenne pepper. I like spice food and sometimes very spicy food. There are many jars of hot sauce in pantry. There is also some really good cayenne pepper. I used a third of teaspon and that was plenty. A full teaspoon would have been incendiary .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
I wanted a recipe for fish tacos because I had never eaten them being from the North. This was absolutely excellent just the way it is written. My husband asked me to make the sauce again even if we just have fish for dinner. Thanks so much for the wonderful recipe, it is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Luther, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SpiceUpYourLife
Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
D-Lish! Everything was finger lickin' good. We've had these tacos several times, and I prefer using only a 1/2 teaspoon of cayenne pepper; the full teaspoon can be a little over powering. Instead of picadillo, I prefer topping it with a spicy jalapeno/habanero salsa, which I make fresh myself (I'll try to get that recipe posted soon for you all).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SpiceUpYourLife

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oxnard, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 1,518) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fish Tacos

See how to make 5-star San Diego-style fish tacos.

Baja Fish Tacos

See how to make marinated fish tacos on the grill.

Grilled Fish Tacos with Chipotle Lime Dressing

Tilapia filets turn into tasty fish tacos with a tangy adobo and lime dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States