Fish Tacos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
This is pretty good, but it's better with a few minor changes. First, season the fish with a little salt, pepper, onion powder, cumin, and garlic powder in addition to the chili powder. This brings out the fish flavor nicely. Remember it's a fish taco. You should taste the fish. Next, the 1/4 cup of salsa that is mixed with the cabbage to make the slaw is enough. Adding extra salsa later will completely overpower the fish. Also, not too much cheese. You only need a little bit, if any at all, too much will again overpower the fish flavor. Only other thing I can add is to make sure the tortillas are hot. The total flavors just seemed to pop out better when they're really warm. Lastly Don't use any cheap, flavorless, nasty fish like tilapia. For the love of life, use good fish. It makes a world of difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MesaMa
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2011
I have been making my fish tacos similar to this for years! I do it a little different though. First I make like a coleslaw with red & green cabbage, minced jalapeno, minced cilantro & shredded carrot, then I mix the salsa and sour cream in with a dash of lime juice. I bake my fish and I sprinkle it with chili powder, cumin, garlic powder, a pinch of cayenne & salt, all to taste. Serve it with a little reduced-fat Mexican cheese blend and wrapped in a warmed corn tortilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MesaMa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
Great, I did tweeck this a bit as I go with what I have available. I used mango salsa, low carb tortillas, skipped the sour cream used halibut frozen fish filets and chopped them after I cooked them. no coleslaw mix or chili powder. They were great had them two nights in a row.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susie Marie

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
I would tweek this if I make again. No need to use cabbage, lettuce will do. Also, I baked the fish instead of frying it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2011
For how quick, inexpensive, and easy these are, they are delicious! The only thing different I did was add thin-sliced red onion. The lime wedges say optional, but they are necessary! I also used really hot salsa, as we love spicy! This is going into the rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gilbert, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
Pretty good. My husband and daughter (4) both loved it. I used broccoli slaw instead of coleslaw and I added tomatoes too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
Kind of plain. Maybe better with spicier salsa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
Every time I've had fish tacos in the past, it's always had a citrusy/fruity component. I didn't have anything on hand to make that work, but I did have the standard taco fillings around...so really, I was just glad to know that it was "acceptable" to eat fish tacos this way! I used mahi mahi and walleye (we preferred the meatier mahi over the flakier walleye). I also added a bit more seasoning (garlic powder, onion powder, paprika, S&P) and ended up having a scorching hot pan to blacken the mahi mahi; that was an unplanned addition of flavor! Other modifications: used shredded lettuce and flour tortillas. (If you haven't had uncooked tortillas that you just cook in a dry skillet for a few minutes...wow, they are SO good! They are available at CostCo by me. It says to not freeze, but I open the bags, separate each with wax paper, then freeze...for convenience. Works slick.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FNChef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2011
This was good. I did a chicken version using the first reviewer's spice combo; I did it the second time using tilapia (which was VERY good).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHAVON

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2011
We *love* this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States