Fish Tacos Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
Kind of plain. Maybe better with spicier salsa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
Pretty good. My husband and daughter (4) both loved it. I used broccoli slaw instead of coleslaw and I added tomatoes too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2011
Great, I did tweeck this a bit as I go with what I have available. I used mango salsa, low carb tortillas, skipped the sour cream used halibut frozen fish filets and chopped them after I cooked them. no coleslaw mix or chili powder. They were great had them two nights in a row.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susie Marie

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
This is pretty good, but it's better with a few minor changes. First, season the fish with a little salt, pepper, onion powder, cumin, and garlic powder in addition to the chili powder. This brings out the fish flavor nicely. Remember it's a fish taco. You should taste the fish. Next, the 1/4 cup of salsa that is mixed with the cabbage to make the slaw is enough. Adding extra salsa later will completely overpower the fish. Also, not too much cheese. You only need a little bit, if any at all, too much will again overpower the fish flavor. Only other thing I can add is to make sure the tortillas are hot. The total flavors just seemed to pop out better when they're really warm. Lastly Don't use any cheap, flavorless, nasty fish like tilapia. For the love of life, use good fish. It makes a world of difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MesaMa
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2011
I have been making my fish tacos similar to this for years! I do it a little different though. First I make like a coleslaw with red & green cabbage, minced jalapeno, minced cilantro & shredded carrot, then I mix the salsa and sour cream in with a dash of lime juice. I bake my fish and I sprinkle it with chili powder, cumin, garlic powder, a pinch of cayenne & salt, all to taste. Serve it with a little reduced-fat Mexican cheese blend and wrapped in a warmed corn tortilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MesaMa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
I would tweek this if I make again. No need to use cabbage, lettuce will do. Also, I baked the fish instead of frying it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2011
We *love* this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2011
For how quick, inexpensive, and easy these are, they are delicious! The only thing different I did was add thin-sliced red onion. The lime wedges say optional, but they are necessary! I also used really hot salsa, as we love spicy! This is going into the rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gilbert, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
Really good I used cheddar cheese intead of authentic mexican cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mo8

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2011
I have tried with with the suggestions of the reviews. I used the new orleans cajun seasoning mix and cumin with the garlic and chili powder. Delicious. I think the 1/4 cup of salsa is perfect. It will be a staple on our table. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Colleen Irons

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States