Fish Sinigang (Tilapia) - Filipino Sour Broth Dish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2006
this was DELICIOUS....very quick and easy. I recommend this dish anytime
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2007
Wasn't sure about it when we started but we both loved it and cannot wait to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2007
SUPER!!! I love this soup! My Philipino friend has a similar recipe- she adds sliced potatoes and brown rice-cooked. This IS comfort food. My husband is Lebanese and he loves this soup. We make it just about once a week. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!! Good Job!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~marie~

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2007
I love this soup. It's light and you would not feel guilty serving along with other main dishes. The original traditional tangy taste calls for tamarind, but lime or tomato is definitely acceptable. Add excitement to your Sinigang by adding prawns, 1/8 cup sliced red onions and 1 tbsp shredded ginger. Some greens like bok choy, or even anaheim pepper (long green pepper) is also good. Since this is soup, I usually add the green veggies sparingly in order not to overpower the character as a soup. Since this is a cultural food, you can deninitely adjust the spices according to your orientation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nani
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
This recipe is sooo simple yet, delicious. Very satisfying, especially since it's getting colder. I substitute the daikon with brown rice since I didn't have any on hand. Also, instead of the Tamarind paste, I used Worcestershire sauce, since I didn't have any of that either. I will surely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nani

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
I always thought pork sinigang was superior to [ocean] fish until I used [fresh wtaaer]tilapia. This fish has a very delicate flavor and a decidedly un-fishy aroma compared to bangus and over-the-reef fish. Sinigang is awesome comfort food, and as I get older, the more I like it on the sour side. Excellent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Sinajana, Sinajana, Guam

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
delicious! tasted just like my mom's recipe. i made just a few alterations though...i added about 1 tablespoon of soy sauce, white daikon, and long beans to the mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Celly Belly

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
Delicious! My wife is Pinay (I'm Mexican) and she loved it! I was impressed at how satisfying the flavor is, definitly Umami.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by misterZ

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2010
Actually it is unrated. but no where to just ask question first. I have trouble finding tamarind. Can I sub with lemon or lime???
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
Love the sour broth, my Filipino friend taught me something very similair to this but I used pressure cooked pork necks for the meat. Also, for the green leafy I used some turnip greens. The taste is great. Sometimes we serve this over rice. Very good on a cold day...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Roasted Chicken Broth

The key to delicious chicken noodle soup is the broth.

Sweet and Sour Pork III

Discover the secrets to making succulent sweet and sour pork.

Indian Fish Curry

Tasty white fish fillets are baked in a spicy curry sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States