Fish Roll Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
Was just camping in Lancaster and stopped at Bourdeau's for the first time. GREAT FOOD and this recipe is wonderful!!!! Thank you for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moi
Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2013
I live in Cornwall and my husband just called to say he had a mess of perch for dinner! Found this and made half the quantity (no water as per another review)and only 1/4 cup sugar. It came out perfect. Having had a Blue Anchor fish roll last week, I feel good about calling it 5 Stars. Could the water be for the bottom of the double boiler??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2012
This is a great sauce/dressing. We have been using this recipe in our family for three generations in our tuna salad. My only issue with this is the addition of water. Leave it out it is not necessary and may be why some have problems with thickening. We first combine all ingredients except vinegar and simmer until thickened then add in the vinegar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2012
I had to had´6 tbs of corn starch to sauce to thicken it. But tastes soooooooo good !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
If you've ever had Lancaster Perch rolls, then this sauce won't disappoint. My husband is a die hard fan of Lancaster perch rolls and he considers himself an expert on the taste of the sauce. He says it's "bang on! No doubt about it!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cornwall Cook

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2010
This was alright. I had to microwave the sauce to get it thick, and even added some cornstarch. I've never had fish roll sauce before, so I have nothing to compare it to, but it was good to try something new.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2010
A very tasty sauce for any fish. Beware, it makes a lot! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mama Luvs Papa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
I've been looking for this recipe for so long, love this fish roll sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2006
This sauce had a nice flavor, but it never thickened for me. I did everything per the recipe, and cooked the sauce for 30 minutes before I gave up on it ever getting thicker. Maybe next time I will try adding more flour?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2003
WOW what a surprise. I was a little leary becauce of the mixture of ingredients but what a surprise. Even after substituting eggbeaters and margaring for the eggs and butter it was still great. Might reduce the sugar by a couple of tablespoons next time. I used it on Ahi Tuna and Halibut and got rave reviews. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Classic Fish and Chips

See how to make tasty, traditional cod fillet fish and chips.

How to Grill Fish

See how to choose fresh fish--and get tips on grilling.

Spaghetti with Clam Sauce

See how to make simple, creamy clam sauce with pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States