Fish in Foil Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2004
My grandmother has been making this recipe for our family for over fifty years, and it has never been a miss no matter what type of fish you use. She uses green bell pepper (and sometimes red too if she has it) instead of the jalapeno. She also throws in about a half teaspoon of dill weed (really important!) No need for fresh lemon (especially if that makes it too lemony for you) just a tablespoon of lemon juice will do. In our family, nothing is more important than fish. Believe me, if you only knew! This recipe is a real winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
402 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BROOKSANDBRIANA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boulder Junction, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Piqua, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2006
I gave it a 4 because I had to spruce up the taste ,other than that the idea is great and I use something similar with my freshly caught fish. here is what I did: I saute the 2 teaspoons of fresh minced garlic and 1/2 tsp. of lemon zest in the olive oil. removed the oil from heat and added cracked black pepper and 2 tbsp. of rice vinegar. broke the filets down to 4-5 inch sizes and brushed the oil mixture on them, then added 1 pinch of dill weed and 1/2 tsp of a cajun spice blend. one small onion slice, 1 slice of a jalapeno and a half slice of a lemon. these were a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
221 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TasteKing

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mccomb, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Summit, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2003
This method of cooking works with ANY type of fish- our favorite is Mahi Mahi, rubbed liberally with fresh lemon juice, patted with butter, & sprinkled with Old Bay Seasoning. Thanks for sharing such a simple way to enjoy seafood!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
197 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2011
I love making tilapia this way-season the fish with salt,pepper and garlic powder, cut up zuccini and yellow squash, dice up a plum tomato and jalopenos. throw it all in the foil on top of the fish,drizzle with a little EVOO, lemon juice and a splash of your fav white wine,(maybe a dash of dijon mustard too!) top with a few capers, throw it in for 20mins..awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2002
This was great. I can never cook fish right. This turned out absolutely divine. The filet fell apart and was moist and not too fishy--even the house didn't smell overwhelmingly fishy. My son raved over it. Way to go!!!! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori McKirahan Burton

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2003
We really enjoyed all the extra flavor of the peppers. Will fix this regularly as we are trying to eat fish more often. I rarely have trout, but a nice way to perk up the flavor for any fish. If you want a good sauce try the one from Salmon Fillets with Creamy Dill, except keep it healthy by using plain yogurt intead of all that mayo. Why would anyone go to the trouble to make something this healthy, then drown it in mayo?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SWENSONL

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2001
I used green peppers and green onions instead of the jalepeno, but it was excellent. Fish was tender, no fuss, no muss. Foil rules!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CATJENKINS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: New Holland, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2007
I don't like a lot of fish but this was goooooood! it was a tiny tad too watery so I'll probably vent the foil next time but overall it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jolley900

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2008
Quite good. Can be used with any fresh fish. Make sure, however, the fish is absolutely fresh (check for clearness of eyes, for instance). Fresh fish will not taste fishy as someone else noted. Serve with a jalapeno tartar sauce (mayo, pickle relish [either dill or sweet]and a little diced jalapeno.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Coupeville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2007
Love this recipe and have used salmon as well. Also put sauteed sweet yellow and red bell peppers on top of the fish while cooking in the foil which adds great flavor. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nurse Ellen so not a

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Agoura Hills, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 270) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Indian Fish Curry

Tasty white fish fillets are baked in a spicy curry sauce.

Jeannie's Kickin' Fried Fish

A quick and easy recipe for Cajun fried tilapia.

Baja Fish Tacos

See how to make marinated fish tacos on the grill.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States