Fish Fillets Provencal Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2013
Wonderful fish recipe, I have tried it with cod and with pollock, and with rice and oven fries for sides. In both occasions the fish turned out wonderfully. The only thing that I would change is the time. There is no way any fish, unless it is 2" thick, after being lightly fried in butter or oil, takes 15 minutes more to boil and cook. Just 3-4 minutes per side for 1" thick fish does it. Adjust the time for thinner fillets.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Andrea O.
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
Just the recipe I was looking for! Was fresh, flavorful, and healthy. My family loved it. I plan on making this again. I made it with recipe from this site, "Green beans, fennel, and Feta cheese"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrea O.

Cooking Level: Beginning

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2013
This made for a truly excellent dinner, one I’m likely to repeat, which I don’t do often (too many recipes, too little time). I played with the recipe a little in ways that were more appealing to me. I sautéed the fish until it was cooked completely, which amounted to a few minutes per side. Simmering it further in the sauce, let alone for another fifteen minutes (essentially an overcooked, poached or stewed fish), just wasn’t going to work for me. Meantime, I prepared the sauce and kept it separate from the nicely browned, nicely crusted fish. Rather than the dried herbs I used fresh, adding them at the end along with some capers. I plated the fish over angel hair pasta and spooned some of the sauce over it all. Some simple steamed broccoli with lemon and garlic completed the meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
Loved this recipe...so did my 6 and 7 year old children. When asked how they would rate this recipe, my daughter say "1000 100%". I did tweak the recipe after reading the reviews. I added 1/2 teaspoon of kosher salt, black pepper, and a fish seasoning to the fish before putting it in the flour. I also added the fish seasoning and some thyme to the flour. I fried the fish on both side for about 2-3 minutes until nicely browned. I used 11/2 cup of canned chopped tomatoes instead of 2 large tomatoes and I added a 1/3 cup of wine wine and 1 table spoon of tomato paste to the sauce. Yum Yum Yum. I did not have enough room in my frying pan for all the pieces of fish, so I laid one of the brown fillet on foil and put it in the oven to ensure it was cooked right through. This was the piece I first gave to the kids. It was a hit. Next I let them try the fillet that was cooked in the sauce. It surpassed their expectation. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
Delicious. Served over angel hair pasta, it was a restaurant-quality meal
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
Excellent, I would go just a little lighter on the thyme the next try. Other than that it was perfect for us. Very light.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
This was a very simple recipe.I didnt have fresh tomatoes so I used a can of diced tomatoes((which made it like a marinara sauce also didnt have fresh parsley so used dried). My husband loved it, and I really liked it. Im not a huge fish fan, but, did enjoy and will keep the recipe to make another day. We used Alaskan Cod and enjoyed not having to fry it to mask the fish. served with brown basmati rice which really went well together on the fork.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathleen Breitfeld

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2013
Absolutely delicious. Added a little chopped garlic with the onions. Herbs were just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sybilann Williams

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2013
Outstanding! I used a can of diced tomatoes and served it over jasmine rice. The spice mixture was fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
So simple and easy to make!! This dish was so good that my 2 yr old asked for 2nds. (I didn't dredge or fry the fish)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Related Videos

Grilled Fish Tacos with Chipotle Lime Dressing

Tilapia filets turn into tasty fish tacos with a tangy adobo and lime dressing.

Spicy Tuna Fish Cakes

Make spicy tuna cakes using basic ingredients commonly found in the pantry.

Crispy Fish

Discover the secret to perfectly crisp, golden-brown fried fish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States