Fish Fillets Provencal Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
Excellent, I would go just a little lighter on the thyme the next try. Other than that it was perfect for us. Very light.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
This was a very simple recipe.I didnt have fresh tomatoes so I used a can of diced tomatoes((which made it like a marinara sauce also didnt have fresh parsley so used dried). My husband loved it, and I really liked it. Im not a huge fish fan, but, did enjoy and will keep the recipe to make another day. We used Alaskan Cod and enjoyed not having to fry it to mask the fish. served with brown basmati rice which really went well together on the fork.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2013
Wonderful fish recipe, I have tried it with cod and with pollock, and with rice and oven fries for sides. In both occasions the fish turned out wonderfully. The only thing that I would change is the time. There is no way any fish, unless it is 2" thick, after being lightly fried in butter or oil, takes 15 minutes more to boil and cook. Just 3-4 minutes per side for 1" thick fish does it. Adjust the time for thinner fillets.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
Good recipe... Thank U...! To avoid the use of two skillets , I browned the parsley-seasoned-flour drenched cod fillets and kept them aside before sautéing the onions. Also used a can of tomato purée as I wanted gravy. Finished it with a sprinkling of dried parsley. My husband who hates fish gulped it down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
It was nice. I added tomato paste too to have gravy. But there was no salt mentioned in the entire recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2013
This made for a truly excellent dinner, one I’m likely to repeat, which I don’t do often (too many recipes, too little time). I played with the recipe a little in ways that were more appealing to me. I sautéed the fish until it was cooked completely, which amounted to a few minutes per side. Simmering it further in the sauce, let alone for another fifteen minutes (essentially an overcooked, poached or stewed fish), just wasn’t going to work for me. Meantime, I prepared the sauce and kept it separate from the nicely browned, nicely crusted fish. Rather than the dried herbs I used fresh, adding them at the end along with some capers. I plated the fish over angel hair pasta and spooned some of the sauce over it all. Some simple steamed broccoli with lemon and garlic completed the meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2013
Absolutely delicious. Added a little chopped garlic with the onions. Herbs were just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2013
Outstanding! I used a can of diced tomatoes and served it over jasmine rice. The spice mixture was fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2013
It was nice. I will make the recipe again but I will need to make some adjustments. My main complaint about this was that none of the flavors seemed to penetrate the fish leaving it some what bland. Next time I will add a splash of white wine and some tomato paste to make a gravy for the fish so that it has something to simmer in. Cut down on the onion, I think half an onion would be sufficient. Also the fish itself and the flour need some seasoning. Oh an ADD SOME SALT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
So simple and easy to make!! This dish was so good that my 2 yr old asked for 2nds. (I didn't dredge or fry the fish)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Fish Chowder

The fishermen of Bodega Bay shared this 5-star chowder recipe.

Grilled Fish Tacos with Chipotle Lime Dressing

See how to turn tilapia filets into tasty marinated fish tacos.

Spicy Tuna Fish Cakes

Make spicy tuna cakes using basic ingredients commonly found in the pantry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States