Fish Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2000
I liked this fish chowder really well. The next time I prepare it I will add minced clams and substitute half and half instead of the canned cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2000
I have made this a couple of times and everyone loves it. It is easy, quick, the ingredients are easy to find and it re-heats well. The recipe does make a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Vienna, Wien, Austria
Living In: Coral Springs, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2000
A great recipe......I use what ever kind of fish I have on hand...added shrimp for a festive appeal.....always a winner! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2000
This is the best chowder I've ever had! I added some shrimp and scallops, and my family loved it. Thanks for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2001
It was delicious! Perfect for a cold rainy day. I decided to experiment for my mom and husband. They both loved it! My mom said it tasted better than the chowders served at fine restaurants.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2001
This was soooo good! My husband's first response was, "Darn, that's good! Why haven't you made this before??" I did make a few changes though... but I think the recipe as written would be just as yummy. I used 1lb red snapper, 1lb cooked baby shrimp and some chopped clams. I had lots of clam juice, so I used 4 cups clam juice to 1 cup chicken broth. I also used half and half rather than evaporated milk and found that 16oz was enough. Used Lawry's great garlic salt with parsley and lots more Old Bay's to taste. I can't recommend this recipe either way highly enough.. we will have it again and again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2001
Delicious. I cut the amount of evaporated milk in half and the recipe came out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2001
This is fantastic! Thank you for sharing it with us. I used 1 can of evaporated milk and 1 can of evaporated skim milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2001
Ode to the soup.....hip hip hooray. We decided instead of fish to put in 1lb of sea scallops, 1/2 lb large shrimp (diced), 2 cans of chopped clams with the juice in. We also found that pureeing the onions it gave it a more distributed flavor....smack. Also a dash of tobasco. BEWARE: This is a Jamboozle of soup be prepared for dinner guests or have lots of butter containers for freezin your left overs. Sincerly: Sagaciouss the soupvixen
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2001
Tried this recipe last night, and it was great! I added extra Old Bay Seasoning and also added 1/2 teaspoon dried thyme. As my husband said, "this one's a keeper".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 365) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Fish Chowder

The fishermen of Bodega Bay shared this 5-star chowder recipe.

Hearty Halibut Chowder

See how to make a creamy Alaskan-style halibut chowder.

New England Clam Chowder I

Here’s a hearty comfort-food classic to warm you up on cold winter days.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States