Fish Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
I didn't dislike this recipe but it wasn't my favorite chowder. It was pretty one dimensional. I made it as stated except that I subbed carrot for the celery since I dislike celery. After it was done I added extra Old Bay but that didn't fix it. I put in a lot of garlic salt and then finally thought to add some sherry and a little heavy cream. That improved it dramatically but even with that change it only brought it up to four stars. The husband is on his second bowl (after he added even more sherry) but neither of the kids liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by riz
Living In: Chapin, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2012
Very good. I followed the recipe closely but did make a few changes. I omitted celery because I didn't have any, used 2 cups of clam juice because I wanted to use some I'd had a while, used 2 5 oz cans of evap milk cause that's what I had on hand. I used tilapia and bay scallops and 2 cans of crab totaling 2 lbs in place of the cod cause that's what I had on hand. I had never used Old Bay before but had a sample pkg on hand so I tried it. It is very good and I ended up adding more, a little at a time until I had used 3/4 tsp. Although it tasted very good at this point I still added my personal favorites in seasoning which were a good splash of sherry(real sherry-not cooking sherry), nutmeg, all spice, cayenne, ginger all to taste. Let simmer and it was wonderful. Served with a tossed salad and warm garlic bread. Thanks AMYTHE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2012
My husband and I have made other Fish Chowder recipes before; but after we made this recipe yesterday....."by far this is the best we've had" We look for easy not time consuming and healthy meals for our family. This was easy not time consuming and the kids can't get enough of it...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
It needed more Old Bay, and as per several other reviewers, only one can of evaporated milk. I used bacon drippings to saute the veggies. I used a combination of cod and flounder, and almost 3 cups of chicken stock since it needed more liquid when I put the potatoes in. It thickened up pretty nicely. It was even better the next day after the flavors intensified a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth H

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2012
I usually love fish chowder and this did not taste good at all. I would give it no stars but I do have to rate it so here you go, 1 star.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2012
Delicious! Only thing I should've done differently was use only 1 can of evaporated milk instead of 2 just because i would've liked it thicker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kgoodwin91

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Evansville, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2012
This is a keeper, satisfying and so easy to make. I have used a variety of white fish to make this. When I say soup is for dinner my husband mopes but he doesn't consider this soup. Hearty and satisfying/
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rochelle Villenave

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2012
What an excellent recipe. I added about a tablespoon of Old Bay and used a tsp of celery seed because I didn't have any celery. Any kind of fish would do for this outstanding recipe. I used what was in the freezer - a piece of flounder, a piece of salmon and some whitefish. Yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2012
Great soup! Made generally as is except for the following: added kernels of 2 ears of fresh corn, brancy to deglaze the sauteed vegetables and I used two cups of half and half instead the evaporated milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2012
Enjoyed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 369) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fish Chowder

The fishermen of Bodega Bay shared this 5-star chowder recipe.

Hearty Halibut Chowder

See how to make a creamy Alaskan-style halibut chowder.

New England Clam Chowder I

Here’s a hearty comfort-food classic to warm you up on cold winter days.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States