Fish Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
Great flavor. Be careful not to overcook the fish--I did, by about 8 minutes, and mine turned out rubbery. The flavor was delicious and and it was easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
Even with 3 times the amount of seasoning it was still bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lzhuber

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Okeene, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Germantown, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
My husband loved this chowder. I didn't use the 2 cans of evaporated milk. I used half and half instead. About 1 1/2cup. And instead of butter I used bacon fat that I cooked the mushrooms ,onions and celery. Then I used the bacon for the top of the soup. Great Chowder. I also used scollops in it because my kids love them. I think they go great with the fish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Theresa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2013
I thought this made an excellent chowder and my husband and two daughters agreed. I made a few changes based on other reviewers' comments. We like a lot of flavor, so I added 1 tsp parsley, 1/2 tsp black pepper, 1/4 tsp salt, and 1.5 tsp of the bay seasoning. I think I will try 1tbs of the bay seasoning next time. I also increased the celery to 3 stalks, used a whole small onion (chopped), and put in half a container of baby bella mushrooms (sliced). I used fat free evaporated milk and 2 tbs of olive oil instead of the butter to help cut some calories. Everyone still thought it was rich enough, but it definitely did not have the richness of chowder from a restaurant because of the removed fat, I'm sure. Next time I will probably add even more celery and mushrooms. The amount of potatoes was perfect. The cod worked wonderfully in this recipe. We did sprinkle store bought bacon bits over the top when it was completed and it was a nice touch. I might try a dab of hot sauce added next time right before serving as someone else suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
Great recipe. My mom is from Maine and said this recipe is very close to what she had as a child - except the mushroom (which I left out). Instead of using flour to thicken the soup, I shred part of the potato and cook with the rest of the ingredients. The starch in the potato thickens it up nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
All the adults who tried this, loved it...the kid's didn't want anything to do with it. From reading the other reviews, I made a few adjustments. More Old Bay - 1 full tsp., doubled the celery - I like celery, only used one can of evaporated milk - it was creamy enough for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
Just finished this for supper tonight. Absolutely delicious!! DH is practically licking his bowl. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OODLES_OR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2012
I think I messed this up and cooked the potatoes too long, which made the soup more bland. It didn't have enough flavor for my husband and I, but again.....my fault.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
So tasty and got better after simmering for an hour in my dutch oven. Didn't have mushrooms or celery so I substituted them with corn. Also we used fresh caught halibut and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tiffany
Home Town: Gloucester, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
This is simple and delicious ...I used only 1 can of evaporated milk to have it a little thicker and I used 1/2 tsp. of old bay seasoning...great comfort food. Oh I also used sea bass for my fish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 380) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fish Chowder

The fishermen of Bodega Bay shared this 5-star chowder recipe.

Hearty Halibut Chowder

See how to make a creamy Alaskan-style halibut chowder.

New England Clam Chowder I

Here’s a hearty comfort-food classic to warm you up on cold winter days.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States