Fish Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dale
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
Made this recipe with my husband as he loves anything seafood. On a cold winters night this chowder hit the spot for our family. Following this recipe was very easy but we made a few additions. Little neck and regular clams shelled and raw Shrimp. I think this will become a regular dinner dish for winter in our home!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dale

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
I love versatile recipes! This will not be a helpful review of the recipe as listed, but an encouragement to those like me who did not have all the correct ingredients- it still turned out fabulous! I used tilapia instead of cod (defrosted the wrong fish!), one can of evaporated milk (all I had), replaced the other can with regular milk (2%). I was out of flour, so I thickened it with 1T cornstarch in 2T cold water. I had no clam juice- I am sure this would have added a lot of flavor. No mushrooms- added 8oz frozen corn. I found it a bit bland, so I increased the Old Bay to 1 teaspoon and added 1/2 teaspoon salt (I used low sodium chicken broth, so that may have been the reason). Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
Wonderful fish chowder - quick and tasty. I used flounder and topoed with crispy bacon. Hubby loved it !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
I took many of the reviewers feedback and added 8 strips of bacon and cooked the celery and the onions in the drippings. Also added a teaspoon of Thyme and frozen corn. Omitted the mushrooms. Many people comment on reducing the recipe to 1 can of evaporated milk. We thought it was great as is - not to thin and not too thick. My husband was shocked that he liked it so much. He had never had fish chowder and expected it to be “fishy” - which it is not!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burlington, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Tyngsboro, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
Love it!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2013
Epic! I went a little heavier with the Old Bay, included carrots, excluded mushrooms and used whole clams over fish. Knocked the family's socks off! I highly recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
Love this recipe & my family gave rave reviews! Perfect in a sourdough bowl on a chilly night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
Delicious. Only change was to add bacon (and isn't everything better with bacon?). Also used only half the evaporated milk as the recipe called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grace T.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
Delicious and easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 380) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Fish Chowder

The fishermen of Bodega Bay shared this 5-star chowder recipe.

Hearty Halibut Chowder

See how to make a creamy Alaskan-style halibut chowder.

New England Clam Chowder I

Here’s a hearty comfort-food classic to warm you up on cold winter days.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States