Fish Chowder Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
Delicious. Only change was to add bacon (and isn't everything better with bacon?). Also used only half the evaporated milk as the recipe called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grace T.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
Delicious and easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2013
Turned out great, but took longer than the recipe. Maybe I'm slow at chopping and simmering!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JoeH

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Jefferson, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Cary, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2013
I added corn and bacon, and more Old Bay... quite possibly my new favorite chowder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2013
Great recipe! I wanted a lighter version so I omitted the evaporated milk entirely and added white wine and garlic broth from a batch of fresh mussels I made recently. Also added a can of baby clams with the juice and used sole fish and doubled the Old Bay. Delicious! Not so much creamy as just yummy! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fleur de lys

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Quebec, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2013
Made this tonight and my 7-yr old had a second bowl. We all finished our large bowls and declared the recipe a keeper. I am always appalled when people list all the changes they make to a recipe during a review, but I must admit that I did change it a little. Four cups of potatoes and two pounds of fish is a lot! So I did increase the liquid: I used a tablespoon of "Better than Chicken Bouillon" to 3 cups of water. And I bumped up the Old Bay. Didn't use cod either...I had some tilapia fillets and Mahi Mahi fillets in the fridge that I hadn't used, so substituted those. The recipe is very good, especially with fat-free evaporated milk. We didn't find it bland at all. It does yield a lot, especially since I increased the liquid, but that was just my own doing. It's a keeper in my house - a great way to use up extra fish fillets from other recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bloomington, California, USA
Living In: Henderson, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2013
Very nice flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Michelle
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2013
Just made this tonight for supper! Loved how fast this dish was to make too! My husband and I are big penny pinchers so I worked with what we had in the kitchen. We didn't have clam juice, or evap. milk or Old Bay. So I used 5 cups of chicken stock, 2 % milk, and various spices. We will have this again and again I can tell you that. Next time I will add more quantity of veggies and add shrimp! Made this with garlic-parmesan mini biscuits. Perfect pair :) p.s. my husband is always on dish duty after I cook dinner, and he loved the fact this was a "one-pot-wonder" :P
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cambridge City, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: May 2, 2013
This was great! I just made 1/2 for the 2 of us. I didn't have clam juice, so I added a can of chopped clams. I also added a splash of white wine. Sherry would be good also. I used swai, my new favorite white fish and homemade chicken stock.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Norma Kuisle
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
I used some white wine and because I had no Old Bay I seasoned with thyme, oregano, cayenne and paprika. Also had some fresh parsley, so threw that in. With so many changes, I am not sure how to rate the actual recipe! But obviously, it is similar and mine turned out delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 352) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Fish Chowder

The fishermen of Bodega Bay shared this 5-star chowder recipe.

Hearty Halibut Chowder

See how to make a creamy Alaskan-style halibut chowder.

New England Clam Chowder I

Here’s a hearty comfort-food classic to warm you up on cold winter days.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States